Meet Cape Tara!

The Sew Convert is utterly happy and utterly exhausted. I have completed the third and final Tara for the Tara Experiment Week! My source of inspiration is a cape dress from Harvey Faircloth which I mentioned in a previous post. Meet Cape Tara. My most versatile Tara so far.

The fabric is a discounted cotton fabric from Spotlight. I bought 2 metres of it at US$6.50. It is a light weight cotton but not as sheer as voile. I adapted the cape from my vintage butterick  B5032 pattern.

The blouse can also be wore without the cape.

I used white bias tape to create the tie-string sleeves. The fabric had rather cute fringes on its selvages so I cut pieces of them and added these to the back and front neckline area of the blouse as shown below.

I tried the blouse on after finishing the sleeves and realized I do not need to insert the elastic. So, I didn’t. However, I did tighten the fit around the waist area.

To create the cape, I cut the front and back pieces of the pattern, excluded the lining and shortened the length of the cape. The fabric selvages were also used as I cut the cape front centre on them so they finished like what is shown in the photo below. The cape is held together by snap closure but I stitched on a button made with the blouse fabric to coverup the snap. White ric rac was then sewn around the cape.

Psst…If you do not have a cape pattern, Ruffles & Stuff has a cape tutorial 🙂

For the Sew Convert, I am glad I have the weekend to recharge and sew more tops next week. Blessed weekend everyone!

16 thoughts on “Meet Cape Tara!

  1. Pingback: 50s Inspired Sabrina Cape Dress Part 2 « The Sew Convert

  2. Pingback: Self Stitched September: Day 21 to 27 « The Sew Convert

  3. Pingback: The incidental tourists « The Sew Convert

  4. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also visit this website on regular basis to take updated from newest news.

  5. Pingback: Me Made May: We’re half way there! | The Sew Convert

Leave a comment