Red Denim Ruby

These two weeks, I am supposed to sew more shorts or pants in preparation for Self-Stitched-September. I have never sewed shorts nor pants for myself so the learning curve is rather steep. The only pants I’ve sewed are those with elastic waistbands for my son. My first shorts project is burdastyle’s Ruby which I made using a red denim fabric which amazingly feels like regular quilting cotton. I might skip interfacing if I were using denim or a medium weight fabric as it can become bulky.

Red gingham ribbons I found at Daiso (Japanese $2 shop) were used to decorate the front waist band and around the cuff area.

I started this project yesterday and only finished this evening. I  adhered to the pattern but dropped the front pocket and belt. I used a size 38 which is good for my hip though my waist is supposed to be thicker and yet the waistband came out a little loose. Too much ease in the waist? I’m not sure. I will have to do a few more rounds of fitting next time. Yes, I intend to give this another go, most likely sooner than I think. I’m sorry the photo is kinda blur. You will see a white line above the back pocket. Again, I couldn’t resist the edge fringe of the selvage and this time only a short fringe is revealed above the pocket with the fringe ends hidden under the waistband. It is actually one of my favourite parts of this pair of shorts. I will try to take a close up photo of the pocket soon.

UPDATE: New photo of the pockets here :)

What would I do differently next time?  Though the instructions were confusing, I do like the pattern.  Ali’s suggestions on her blog helped me to understand the instructions better. Thank you Ali! The items I needed to remind myself are in italic below. Just to make round two a little easier.

A Summary of Key Steps for Ruby:

1) Sew darts

2) Sew pockets

3) Sew side of front facings to side of front pieces

4) Sew side seams of back pieces to their respective front pieces until the indication line on the pattern just below the facing

5) Complete front facing and attach underlaps in a similar fashion

6) Sew inside of pants

7) Check out fit

8 ) Sew front waistband and back waistband using a blasting stitch and do a fitting, adjust bands and sew when satisfied. Otherwise, the seam ripper might become this project’s most used ‘equipment’.

9) Sew cuff. Fit and adjust length.

10) Do button holes and sew buttons

Will I wear this? Actually, I will. I have the bad experience of buying quite a number of shorts and pants online only to find the waist ill-fitting. I might need sometime to find my perfect shorts pattern and stop buying them!

12 thoughts on “Red Denim Ruby

  1. These look great! Glad some of my instructions were helpful, I find BurdaStyle instructions so difficult but I can’t resist their cute patterns. I love this in red, and the ribbon makes it really special :) I’ve got a Daiso near me, maybe I’ll pop in to see if I can find some ribbon.

  2. FABULOUS! You’re rocking those shorts!! I especially like the additional touch of the Daiso ribbons … so cute. The fit is fantastic. Isn’t it great to be able to sew something you like that will fit much better than anything store-bought.

  3. Thanks Simone! I absolutely agree with you that self made stuff rocks. actually I’ve stopped buying clothes since I started sewing diligently for myself since May:)

  4. Thanks Ali! Hope you are better. The instructions for ruby was rather lousy compared to some of the other burdastyle patterns I’ve used. I half suspect that someone tried to translate it from German but failed miserably :P For the patterns I’ve tried, Jakob shirt has the best instructions. So, the standard really varies from pattern to pattern. Hopefully, the rest of the patterns you find cute are better illustrated and explained. Happy ribbon shopping!

  5. Pingback: The incidental tourists « The Sew Convert

Leave a Reply

