Two dresses

I’ve been down with a flu and still don’t have the energy to complete a proper Behind The Seams blog post. Instead of not updating at all, I decided to just post photos of the two dresses I’ve made for last week and this week’s Sew Weekly challenge. For more details, do check out my TSW posts.

The Woolloomooloo Wharf Dress (TSW post here)

My dress was inspired by Debi’s lovely Raspberry Sorbet dress. I used a fuschia linen fabric and 1940s sewing pattern Simplicity 3640. Photos were taken at the Woolloomooloo Wharf area in Sydney.

The Dreamscape Wrap Dress (TSW post here)

For the theme of VIP stash busting, I used burdastyle magazine 102/12/2010 pattern which I have used for my Never Say Never dress and Nani Iro fabric by Japanese designer Naomi Ito for this dress.

The back yoke and facings were cut using remnants from the Woolloomooloo wharf dress.

I hope you like the dresses and are having great fun with your projects!  Have a blessed week!

16 thoughts on “Two dresses

  1. I was waiting for your post, Adey! Please get well soon. I love both dresses. I really like how the sleeves draped on your dreamscape dress.

  2. Sorry to hear you’re still under the weather, hoop you feel better soon.

    I love those dresses. Not only are they beautiful, they sort of look like they’re from the same collection!

  3. love your use of nani iro fabric! :) i’ve seen the fabric in real-life wondering what could be made out of it.. your dress is completely off the charts!!

  4. Both dresses are beautiful. Im so glad you posted the wrap dress as I had written this one off from the photo in the magazine. I didn’t like the way it gaped at the front but I kept coming back for another look at those sleeves! Yours is a fabulous fit and a great inspiration, thank you for posting :-)

  5. I think your sewing is perfection, you really do a good job. I look at your seams and the effort it takes to make them so perfect is really impressive. I always look forward to your dresses!

  6. Pingback: Tropical birds wrap dress and Paris fabrics finds! | The Sew Convert

  7. Pingback: Me Made May: We’re half way there! | The Sew Convert

Leave a Reply

