Four new projects

Sorry I have been away from the blog for so long. I think a month to be exact. Besides feeling rather burnt out, I’ve also been terribly busy- mostly due to kids activities and domestic helper issues.

I’ve also been thinking about my plans for next year, after my sew weekly commitments come to an end. As some of you might know, I started sewing because of my lil princess, who will be turning 3 really soon. The sewing attention shifted from her to me because she was wearing school uniform but since transferring to the same pre-school as her older brother in August, she has been wearing her own clothes. So, come next year my focus will be very much on mother-daughter fashion and I am blessed enough to have located a few matching mother-daughter vintage patterns to start 2012 off with.  Some of you have asked me about how I go about sewing jersey/ knit and chiffon since I do not own a serger so I will also be sharing my own experiences with these fabrics. I also hope to add a few self drafted patterns which you can download from my blog. My problem is the lack of a working scanner at the moment so I might have to get that resolved.

Well, that’s my very basic plan for next year. Meanwhile, I still wanna document the projects I’ve done on Sew Weekly so here are the stuff I’ve created for the past 4 weeks and links to the posts.

Hope you enjoy reading them and happy sewing!

1) Theme: Think Pink

Project: “Oops! Did I wear it the wrong way ?” blouse 


2) Theme: Spanish Harlem

Project: The “Shall we Dance?” Outfit

3) Theme: Musicals

Project: The “Gone Tribal” FELA dress

4) Theme: Lounging around

Project: The “Rusty Bed jacket and slacks”

11 thoughts on “Four new projects

  1. That’s plenty of sewing and lovely outfits all of them. Love the variety and the combinations. Think you’re gonna have a perfect outfit for every occasion by the time the year’s up, Adey :). Beautiful work!.

  2. Jali :
    That’s plenty of sewing and lovely outfits all of them. Love the variety and the combinations. Think you’re gonna have a perfect outfit for every occasion by the time the year’s up, Adey . Beautiful work!.

    LOL! Thanks Jali, my wardrobe is indeed running out of space. I do try my best to sew items I will actually wear while keeping to the themes. I think I’ve already been wearing loads of self stitched stuff recently, so much so that I don’t see a need to do a self stitched month :)

  3. for some reason, i missed reading your spanish theme work on the sew weekly. don’t know why. it’s very pretty! the blouse is a dream!

    you’ve been a sew-tastic inspiration to me.

  4. Thanks so much Fiona for the encouraging words! I worn the blouse out last weekend and loved it. If I were to sew it again however, I will make it a little longer. Think it will be more versatile that way:)

  5. Pingback: Your favorite dress and my 2011 sewing targets | The Sew Convert

Leave a Reply

