Giveaway Part 1: The Birthday Border Print Fabric Giveaway

Hello everyone, here’s the giveaway I’m promised earlier. I’m naming it the birthday giveaway as the winner will be selected on 10 December, my birthday:) I adore the Japanese border print fabric which I’ve used for last week’s Sew Weekly Challenge and thought of spreading some fabric joy with you. So for this fabric giveaway, one of you will get the chance of winning two and a half metres (2.5m) of this exact border print fabric. After revisiting the fabric stall, this is still my favorite colorway.

I took the above photos using my iphone camera but you will get a better idea of the fabric on what I’ve named “The Fabric has Spoken Dress” (More dress info and photos on my TSW post here).

To participate in this giveaway, all you have to do is to let me know which is your favorite item out of all the garments I’ve sewed this year. With my year long commitment with TSW coming to an end very soon (Unbelievable but with a blink of the eye, I’ve only got 2 and a half more outfits to work on!), I’m really curious to know what you think. I’ve consolidated all the garments here for your easy reference:) As usual you double your chances if you are subscribed to the blog. The winner will be chosen randomly by the higher power at random.org .

Have a blessed week!

P/S: Yes, this giveaway is international, I’ll ship the fabric to the winner anywhere around the world :)

97 thoughts on “Giveaway Part 1: The Birthday Border Print Fabric Giveaway

  1. This fabric is awsome! I love it too. So….which dress of your challenge I do like most? Well you are an amazing seamstress and you look beautiful in ALL your dresses but if I can choose one, then it is the dress of week 39 “musical”: the “gone tribal FELA dress”. The colors of the dress are very nice, you have in this dress a “boho” style which I love, it is a little bit special and it is exactly what I do look for when I sew something: sew a dress with a little “thing” more. In this dress you look fabulous!
    Kind regards from Switzerland Sabine

  2. Oh no! You are going to make us choose? You always look fantastic in everything you sew. But if I have to …. it would have to be the Jason Wu Bow Dress. Although I also love that black jumpsuit you made right back at the beginning.

    Thank you for such a great giveaway. Such beautiful fabric and you made such clever use of it for your lovely dress.

    Caitlin (from Australia)

  3. I LOVE ‘The Orange Dress’. I found the pattern in America and it is currently on the way to Oz. Wahoo. I love the back you did. <3

  4. My fav. was the Macaron dress for the pinup challenge! The reason why: this is one of the few patterns you’ve used more than one time. (I loved the other versions too…) I wanted to make a Macaron for a long time and after the last one you have made I decided to sew it up! Mine is made out of corduroy fabric and just finished it. I’d love to win this beautiful fabric, the more because I could never find anything like that here in the Netherlands…

  5. The fabric is gorgeous! I can’t chose which I love best of all your creations. I managed to narrow it down to week 42, 31, 22, 18 and 7. If I absolutely had to choose one, then it’d be week 18 Rule Britannia. There’s just something so classic about navy and white and you look amazing in it (as you do in all your outfits!). And I’m a subscriber too. Vx

  6. You made so many pretty things this past year! It’s difficult to choose. My two biggest favourites are definitely your “Much Needed Curves Kitty Dress” and your “Abandoned Hangar” dress. I think I must pick the latter because it actually made me run out and start looking for dress patterns with similarly gathered bust and shoulders. After a couple of weeks of searching I ended up buying and sewing this just because of the “Abandoned Hangar” dress.

  7. What lovely fabric! I’ve never sewn with a border print before. I love your Jason Wu bow dress and the red lace Hitchcock dress. Also I love the Hike and Seek outfit with the fun glasses-print fabric.
    Thanks for the giveaway :)

  8. I have to admit, it’s so difficult to choose a favourite! I love all of your creations! If I could choose two, they’d be the Giddy with Polka Dots dress, and the Much Needed Curves Dress. I have both on my inspiration board!

    I absolutely LOVE that fabric as well! I never seem to find anything quite so inspiring when I’m fabric shopping!

  9. Ok,thats just too tough! I love the FELA dress, the Keyhole mod mini- it seems like every week I get a new favorite- but I have decided. It’s this one. The placement of the border print on the ties is so perfect and it’s so adorable on you. Yup,until next week, I have this favorite!

  10. I would love to be in with a chance of winning this please! I follow your blog avidly and have thoroughly enjoyed following your Sew Weekly progress, you’re a real inspiration. You’ve created way too many gorgeous outfits for me to choose from, so I’m going to list my top 5 (and believe me, it was still hard to narrow down):Weeks 6, 10, 20, 34, 37 & 46!

  11. Happy Birthday for the 10th! And thanks for such an amazing giveaway…I absolutely LOVE that fabric. You have blown me away with the wonderful outfits you have made this year, I really love your style. And as others have said, it’s so hard to pick one…..can I have more thanone??!!! I love love love Much Needed Curves Dress, the Dreamscape Wrap Dress and the blue and white parasol dress!!!
    I’ve just announced a giveaway of my own if you’d like to check it out :)

  12. They are all gorgeous, but I am torn between the “gather and go” dress and the Jason Wu bow dress. I love them both!!!

  13. I think that the Abandoned Hanger Dress might be my favorite as well…although nearly every piece I saw became my new favorite as I scrolled down. :-) I love seeing all the beautiful things you create!

  14. That was fun looking at all your creations as once. I looove the perfect summer dress. Blue is my favorite color and of course I love stripes or chevron. It is perfectly retro modern.

  15. Amazing clothes you are so talented and it is difficult to pick one but I like the tribal fela dress. Thanks for the giveaway.

  16. I absolutely adore the Darling Stash peter pan blouse you recently made. The pom pom trim! The sweet sleeves! The FABRIC!!!! Your creations are truly inspiring. Thanks for the giveaway!

  17. Wow, I’m so impressed with your output! I love the borrowed time dress! It would never look good on my hippy self, but it’s just lovely on you.

    I have subscribed to your sweet blog, of course. Thank you for the giveaway!

  18. We have the same birthday! I’m torn between the All Pinned Up dress and the Jason Wu Bow Dress. I wish I had both in my closet right now!

  19. Congrats on the year of Sew Weekly! It seems unfair for me to choose your Halloween costume, but I love it! I’ve never seen anything like it. So unique. I also love the Hallyu Dress, which I remember seeing on Burdastyle.com.

  20. Oooh, sign me up! I love that fabric. Happy upcoming birthday! Picking a favourite outfit was hard, though—I’ll have to go with the movie cheongsam, though, just because I love cheongsams so much. Hmm, maybe that’s what I’d have to make with the fabric, if I should win. Mmm, I like that idea!

    I subscribe on Google Reader, does that count? :)

  21. Ever since I started following your blag I have been amazed by what you make, how well you make it, how great it looks on you and your boy and hubby.
    Since I am most ‘into’ 70’s style classic dresses, I choose your Pool Party dress. Io love the colorful fabric and the open back on it.
    Thanks for hosting the giveaway and I will be back to wish you a happy Bday on December10th!

  22. I love the pinstripes and scalloped skirt. Also abandoned hangar. Pretty cool stuff you’ve made over the past year. And a lot of it!!

  23. I love all of your creations, and I love reading about them, too! If I had to pick one, it would be The Jason Wu 吳季剛 Bow Dress. I love the use of the fabric, and the dress is super cute. Thank you, Adey, and happy birthday!

  24. I have many favorites of your dresses– but LOVE the “To Die For” one– it’s SOOOO pretty!!! I would be so excited if I won your fabric prize— thank you so much for this giveaway! :-)

  25. Well, I love the 40s sweetheart dress but it was the W-loo wharf dress that got me subscribing to your blog. I also always love your blouses-the nice one with the “shall we dance” and the latest stash busting.

  26. I think it has to be the blue and white parasol dress for me, I love the fit and retro gorgeousness of it :)
    Thanks for making this giveaway international!

  27. Ah, that fabric is so lovely…

    Tough choice, I liked loads of your garments! I’m torn between the pinup macaron and the giddy with polka-dots dress…

  28. I absolutely adore the dress you made with your give-away fabric, but my absolute favorite is the Musical dress with the fun trial print. Its such a free spirited easy summer dress!

  29. It is so hard to choose a favorite creation of yours! The one that makes me stop and say wow is the incredible red lace dress from week #27: Hitchcock. The dress that makes me say…hmmm…I should make one like that is: the Gather and Go Dress from Week #36.
    :)

  30. That fabric is beautiful!!
    I loved more than one of your dresses. The first one is the Valentines dress you made in the 40s style. Gorgeous. And the next one was your perfect summer dress that was blue with the full skirt and white stripes. Both were fabulous. I follow you through blogger’s dashboard :)

  31. I had to go back and forth through the pics, because there are so many adorable outfits. I finally decided on the second early 1930s dress. Butterick 4588 that you made using chiffon fabric. Your style choice and sewing are exquisite. Its so incredibly chic!

  32. I like the 40’s sweetheart dress from seeing red — love the sleeves in that pattern. Lots of others too. I really like that cute print you are giving away. Thank you for the opportunity to enter.

  33. I loved the giddy with polkadots dress, it was the first one I saw and I have been looking for navy spots fabric ever since!

  34. I’ve been following your amazing work on both The Sew Weekly and here for a few months now and I have to say I love a lot of your outfits. They are simply amazing and absolutely gorgeous. If I have to choose one as my favourite though, I’d have to say the 40s Sweetheart Dress from week 6, followed very closely by the Gather & Go dress of week 36. I can’t wait to see the rest of the outfits you’ll be creating for the Sew Weekly Challenge :)

  35. Oh my goodness! It is so hard to choose! I think my favorite is the 40s sweetheart dress…. but I also love the “rainbow fish” outfit…. and the au revoir dress, and the blue and white parasol dress, and the Stables charm peplum dress…… I could go on and on. You are so talented!!!

  36. it is really difficult to choose! n i’m a little bit sad that the year’s coming to an end cos i’m so used to anticipating reading your next-weekly creation and getting to “know you” at the same time. one dress you made that left me a deep impression is the colette’s parfait made in pinkish fabric, one you wore to the beach. it’s really sweet and lovely. and looking through the list, you totally rocked the Hallyu dress. the abandoned hangar dress is superb too. i mean, really, it’s probably the only piece in the world, with that said, all of your handmade clothing are.

    have a love filled birthday celebration ahead! :)

  37. It’s really difficult to choose :
    Best inspiration : the Hallyu Dress (do you received my picture ?)
    Best fabric : the mod Oriental dress (I really love Echino’s !)
    And I can’t choose between The Au Revoir Dress and The Gather and Go Dress. They are both beautifull and fit you well.
    Happy Birthday on the 10th.

  38. My favorite dress is this probably one, because of the great print! But my favorite design would have to be the Oscar Best Costume dress from week 7; I adore those gathers at the neckline.

    I’m also subscribed on Google Reader.

  39. Tanit-Isis :
    Oooh, sign me up! I love that fabric. Happy upcoming birthday! Picking a favourite outfit was hard, though—I’ll have to go with the movie cheongsam, though, just because I love cheongsams so much. Hmm, maybe that’s what I’d have to make with the fabric, if I should win. Mmm, I like that idea!
    I subscribe on Google Reader, does that count?

    Thank you! Fabulous idea and yes, definitely counted:)

  40. They’re all so lovely! But if I have to choose, then my favorite is Blue Garden Frock, with the Jason Wu Bow dress in a close second. And of course I follow you already!

  41. Hi Adey!!

    I am amazed that you have so many pretty dresses all year long and your results are always consistent! I actually have 3 favourites! They are the Stable Charm Dress, Au Revoir dress and Giddy with Polka dots!! Well done!

  42. My favorite is the Gone Tribal FELA dress. It looks so comfortable and the blues are great!

    (subscribed through email)

  43. I had to go through the list, like, three times to decide. I pick the 40’s Sweetheart Dress. That’s the one that just pops out to me when i scroll past. The fabric is awesome and compliments your skin tone so well. You are rocking a 40’s style without looking dated and I love it.

  44. Lovely giveaway! I liked your “At The Races” Dress – I just inherited A LOT of vintage patterns and this is one of them – great inspiration!

    Toni M
    SLC, UT, USA

  45. wow, I can’t believe how many amazing dresses you’ve sewn in under a year! I immediately loved your peter-pan collar blouse as soon as I saw the picture! Your Jason Wu dress and blue and white parasol dress are also tugging at my heartstrings. They are all amazing accomplishments, and you definitely wear them all well. Thanks for the giveaway and happy birthday!

  46. You are an amazing seamstress! I really love your Sewn on borrowed time dress and your The Jason Wu 吳季剛 Bow Dress! Love!!!!

  47. I am torn between the pattern has spoken and the rainbow fish. They are all wonderful but these two are my favorites.

  48. I like week 20 the summer dress. The color and the style complimented you. I favorite the fifties and sixties style of clothing to sew for the summer. You can always put an update on these sewing patterns to fit into today’s styles. I always look for vintage patterns to collect because there were so many designers that designed for the pattern companies years ago and the patterns are timeless. Love your border fabric. Reminds me of a beautiful garden.

  49. I’ve recently discovered your blog through the Grosgrain website, and I love your sewing! I’m so inspired! Also? My birthday is December 8, so cheers, fellow Sag, and Happy Birthday!

  50. Giddy with polka dots has to be my favorite dress! congrats on almost making it through a year with a dress/outfit a week. i’m good to make an outfit a month!

  51. What a beautiful fabric! I love your Orange Tab dress. It is very flattering on you and the piping is so cute. Thank you for this giveaway! Best wishes from Spain.

  52. It’s not a colour I could wear, but I love the fabric and the cut of the “Abandoned Hangar” Dress. It’s interesting and ladylike at the same time. Love it.

  53. Yay, i love this fabric!
    My favourite of your projects has to be the “The “Much Needed Curves” Dress”, the way you put it together was the most beautiful use of this pattern i’ve seen so far :)

  54. Ha! I love all your dresses actually so I am having a hard time to choose but I will choose this “A new lease of life” easter dress that you made!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    jean.

  55. Oh gosh, you’ve made too many gorgeous things, it’s hard to pick a favourite! Can I have two faves? Coz I can’t decide between the Jason Wu bow dress and the 1940’s Valentine dress. Both so gorgeous!

  56. I have to pick 2. The Blue and White Parasol dress, for the colour and perfect piecing; Mod Oriental for the colour co-ordinate and cute oriental touch! Great job! It’s ok that I didn’t get pick for the giveaway as I’m really glad I’ve dropped by again to see your creation roundup. It’s inspirational!

  57. Hi Adey,

    I love your creations and am truly inspired by them…. all I need is the determination to get down and get the job done! Anyway, I’m from Singapore and I love this fabric and would like to know you got them from….appreciate if you could share….thanks!

    Cheers,
    Katherine

  58. Katherine :
    Hi Adey,
    I love your creations and am truly inspired by them…. all I need is the determination to get down and get the job done! Anyway, I’m from Singapore and I love this fabric and would like to know you got them from….appreciate if you could share….thanks!
    Cheers,
    Katherine

    Hi Katherine

    Sorry for the late response, this fabric is from Terence & Sylvia at level 2 Block 32 new market road, hope that helps:) S$10 per metre

    Hope you get this mssg:)

  59. Pingback: Mother-daughter gingham shirtdresses | The Sew Convert

  60. Pingback: Me Made May: We’re half way there! | The Sew Convert

Leave a Reply

