Christmas/ New Year Surprise Winner . Fabric Shopping in Hong Kong .

Hi everyone

Happy Twenty Twelve!  I’m back and have been busy catching up with friends. I hope you had a fantastic Christmas and New Year!

The winner for the Christmas/ New Year Surprise giveaway (I’m so thrilled you girls found it fun!) is #36 Laura Mae who blogs at Lilacs & Lace. Laura said

“My favorite era is always changing, but at the moment, I am loving the 1940s. The patterns use very little fabric and do not take up that much closet space (a welcome relief because of the many 1950s crinolined beauties already in residence there!).”

Congratulations Laura, I will be in touch soon to find out your size so I can start shopping for that 40s vintage pattern:)

Hong Kong was fun, especially for the kids!

I was really looking forward to fabric shopping in Hong Kong but was a little disappointed with the results.

Don’t get me wrong. There was an abundance of gorgeous prints, vivid solids and a huge variety of fabric types. I guess in Hong Kong, they tend to do things a little differently. I didn’t get to see many rolls of fabrics as they came mostly in the form of swatches displayed outside fabric wholesaler stores like these.

I touched the swatches and for the quality of fabric, prices were inexpensive. HOWEVER, most wholesalers will only sell a minimum of 5 metres per fabric. That was not the major issue. Most wholesalers in Hong Kong did not hold stocks in the stores and it could take one to three days for your cut fabric to arrive. I remember shopping at the Shanghai fabric market and while some stores did not hold stocks, they were able to deliver the fabrics in 15 minutes. So, that was a major bummer for me. I was able to see and touch many gorgeous fabrics (especially loved the chiffon prints!) but was not able to purchase them as I visited the fabric market towards the later part of my vacation in Hong Kong. So, if you are planning to visit the fabric wholesalers in Sham Shui Po (only a few MTR stops from Tsim Sha Tsui), Hong Kong, remember to go early in the trip and revisit for collection a few days after. And, yes you definitely need to bring cash.

I didn’t go home empty-handed though as I stumbled upon a stall selling denim in rolls and bought some black stretch denim and blue denim with a glittering effect. Both at US$3 per metre. In Singapore, I usually pay US$8 per metre of basic denim.

At other corners of the fabric market were many stores selling leather, beads, buttons and all sort of sewing accessories. I managed to buy some belt buckles from this store.

Sadly, that was all the sewing related shopping I did. But, the next stop at Disneyland certainly cheered me up. My fave Mickey  and fave waffles….:P

And I managed to get photos of my last Sew Weekly project taken at the Disneyland Hotel where we stayed for a couple of days. You can read more about the “Braving It Out” Dress here. The pattern used was a Vintage Vogue reprint 2787.

The Hong Kong vacation was a fruitful trip. There were people I’ve met and things I’ve seen on this trip that has inspired me to sew some upcoming projects. A couple of stories which I will share once these projects are completed. My priority now is to sew some garments for the family  in time for the Lunar New Year (23 January 2012). But, before that I’m gonna relax and enjoy the yummy lychee freeze (This one’s from Fosters Cafe at Holland Village, Singapore) on this hot hot day!

Have a blessed week everyone!

12 thoughts on “Christmas/ New Year Surprise Winner . Fabric Shopping in Hong Kong .

  1. Hello! it’s always nice to read about your travels. and of course the fabric and notions shopping part. that is a very nice family photo with goofy (my fave!). :)

    have a wonderful year ahead!

  2. Very interesting… I’ve never been fabric shopping in Hong Kong but it certainly sounds like a fascinating shopping destination! I love your Vogue dress by the way, the color is beautiful!

  3. I had the same problem in Hong Kong. As always I was saving the best for last during a week there and went to the fabric district, also finding out it took at least 1 day to get the fabrics. Luckily I did find some meters (at higher price) in the streets of Hong Kong, but if I ever go again, I will do my fabric shopping first above everything else :)

  4. So excited – I cannot wait to see what you pick out Adey!

    That store full of notions looks amazing. I am afraid if I ever encountered anything like it, I would be the kid in the candy store and go crazy.

    And congrats on your Sew Weekly year – that is quite the accomplishment! Glad to hear you enjoyed your trip!

  5. Happy new year and goo healf for 2012. I’m glad you spent great familly time all together.
    I love purple and your dress is gorgeous. You look really great in.
    Have a nice lunar new year.
    Kisses to everyone.

  6. Pingback: The Peekaboo Post. New Year Resolutions and Wish list. « The Sew Convert

  7. Pingback: Welcoming the Year of the Dragon! « The Sew Convert

  8. I have been shopping in Sham Shui Po today. I found thru local friends the following shop. I bought silk at prices varying from ..$50 to $80 HK dollars metro. They had a wide selection of silk prints actually in stock.s My friend bought printed silk and wool cloth. Moon Yue Piece Goods, 1st floor , 125-127 Yu Chau St, Sham Six Po. At least one person spoke good English. My only asociation is that I am a happy customer.

  9. Pingback: Finished Project: Woodland Robe | a devoted novice

Leave a Reply

