Spring Shopping dress

I adored Vogue 8728 (a 1940s reprint pattern) when I used it for my Gather & Go jersey dress last fall so much that I’ve used it again to sew my Spring shopping dress.

This time it’s made using a turquoise cotton jersey fabric which has a lot more stretch in its width. This meant improvisation time for me. I’m usually a size 12 for the big 4 companies’ patterns and Vogue 8728 happened to be one of those patterns that can be sewn in woven or knit. For the Gather & Go jersey dress, I used size 10 pieces for the gathered yoke and skirt as I used a very stable, almost ponte knit, typed jersey which had less stretch in it. For the Spring shopping dress, I traced size 8 for the gathered yoke and used size 10 for the rest. I didn’t shorten the skirt this time. And as with most patterns, very slight adjustment to the fit was still required.

It’s such an easy dress to wear and I could wear it any day really. I was out shopping with my family last weekend in my new dress styled with my self-made mustard belt, orange bag and flats and was happy with how happy spring it looked.

But what made it even more delightful was that it went perfectly well with my red self-made belt too:)

And honestly, I will wear it belt-less to fetch my kids. I think it looks pretty flattering for a comfy jersey dress with no zipper closure, don’t you?

Have a blessed sewing week everyone:)

22 thoughts on “Spring Shopping dress

  1. Your versions of this dress are so inspirational. I have this pattern and want to make it too. Love it done up in the turquoise knit. You look fabulous in it!

  2. I love this dress on you. I recently muslined it for myself and it was one of the worst things I have ever made, but it seems to look great on everyone else – I guess I’m just weird )

  3. This is really cute! I love your color combo accessory pairings with it. The turquoise and yellow and the turquoise and red both look fantastic! It’s really classy looking, but seems like it would be really comfortable to wear too. :-)

  4. Pingback: Burda Challenge Update – 02-2008-119 (plus a nightie because I needed something to cheer me up) | ReadyThreadSew

  5. It’s such a cute dress and I love how you can change the accessories with it. The orange belt, purse, and shoes are my favorite.

  6. This is lovely! The color looks so good on you! This is a very flattering style for you. Jersey dresses are the best. Your dress looks great with the orange belt and flats, but I really love how the dress looks with the belt you made, the red shoes and the purse. So cute!

  7. This is just lovely! That’s a beautiful color on you. A very chic knit dress – I’m adding this pattern to my must-buy list.

  8. Hi Audrey, I literally stumbled on your blog! Pleasant surprise to see someone so passionate about sewing/tailoring just when I’m starting to lament the dying trade. By the way, are your clothes for sale? :)

Leave a Reply

