Cloud Nine Plaid Blouse

I have to be supernaturally blessed! Last week, the retro reversible dress I made for my princess was featured in Grosgrain’s Flickr Favs. This week, my scallop hem floral mini dress was featured! The Sew Convert is officially on cloud nine!

Still brimming with excitement, I made a blouse today.

Made of a Japanese plaid fabric, this blouse has a slanted v-neck. I decided to make the neckline different from the norm as the eggplant fabric has a very clean and simple design.

I drew the neckline I wanted straight onto the fabric while using a blouse pattern as guide for the dart lines.  By extending the shoulder to create sleeves, I didn’t have to stitch them on:). While attaching the blouse’s sides, I also ensured that the plaid lines matched.

A button at the back keeps the blouse in place. I used a wooden button and a pink and white polka dot bias tape. Ta da, my Cloud Nine Plaid Blouse.

5 thoughts on “Cloud Nine Plaid Blouse

  1. Hi!
    I chanced upon your website from Burdastyle. Very creative neckline on the blouse! I have checked out your blog and love the clothes you made for your children. I am starting to sew for my daughter too, have just made her 2 dresses recently. Will ‘blogline’ u for inspiration!

  2. Thank you Sertyan:) I’m so glad you wrote. I’m always happy to meet other mummies who sew for their kids! Saw the Itty Bitty Dress you made on your blog. It’s so cute!!

  3. Pingback: Self Stitched September: Day 21 to 27 « The Sew Convert

Leave a Reply

