A Day in Paris Cami

I am missing Paris. The people watching cafes, Berthillon ice cream, colorful carousels, fountains, museums and beautiful gardens.  Blame it on this camisole named A Day in Paris.

The camisole is based on the F3 pattern from Japanese sewing book ‘Feminine Wardrobe’ (Photo below).

The border print fabric is from Kokka’s Trefle Collection and the baby pink polka dot Japanese fabric is from Malin Textile in Chinatown. Here are some close up photos of the border print which depict elements of the Parisian lifestyle. Below the graphics is a row of common French phrases.

I cut a medium and added white lace to the ruffle piece. Having done the refashioned ruffle blouse, this is indeed an easy blouse to sew. There were 2 pieces (front yoke and front bodice) which were cut from the pattern, while the rest had to be drawn and cut. I also hand stitched three matching buttons as embellishment at the edge of the tie ribbon which is an adorable addition to the simple blouse.

The back yoke with two rows of elastic was pretty cute too.  Je l’aime!

22 thoughts on “A Day in Paris Cami

  1. Hi Sew Convert,

    I’m Brenda, a fellow home sewer residing in Singapore. Really beautiful top! I have been thinking of how to make use of this Parisian border print cloth as a wearing piece of clothing. You have just given me a brilliant idea.

    Your other creations are wonderful and colourful too! I’m more of a “colour coward” (sewing in navy, grey and black). Keep up the good work! hope to see more of your creations.

    Cheers
    Brenda

  2. Hi Brenda! Thank you! I took sometime to decide what to do with that fabric too hahaha…love to see what you make with yours:) I have been wearing lots of navy, grey n black too! Sewing my own clothes is making me more adventurous with colours 🙂

  3. Awwwww, how adorable is that top! The little buttons which embellish the tie are such a nice touch.

    Malin is faaaaabulous, isn’t it??? Now I would have never thought of using this fabric for myself, but you’ve opened my eyes to the possibilities!

  4. bonjour, je découvre ton blog par le biais des JCA, et je viens de le parcourir jusqu’à son début : waouh! j’adore tout ce que tu fais, les vêtements rétro sont superbes et te vont si bien 🙂
    j’aime beaucoup tous les tissus que tu utilises, je crois qu’une de mes prochaines commandes sera pour fabricworm…
    à bientôt, je vais revenir souvent me promener par ici 😉

Leave a Reply

