Esther William Swimsuit & Tribal Kaftan

I have been waiting patiently and it’s finally here! My very own Esther William swimsuit!  Without knowing who Esther William was, I have been eyeing her stunning swimwear on ModCloth for months. Then, I read Casey’s post and checked out Esther William’s online store. There was a sale going on! How could I resist a discounted 1-Piece Classic Sheath I have been drooling over and at a more affordable international shipping rate? All the positive reviews I read on ModCloth really did it for me. Furthermore, I knew I needed a regular fitness regime since I last exercised on a regular basis a decade ago and swimming sounded good to me at that moment.  I chose the black fabric with white polka dots as it looked so adorable and retro. I ordered a size 8 and as per many reviews I have read, the fit is very flattering and it has to be my favorite piece of swimwear ever!

If weather permits this weekend, I will try to snap some photos with my family at the pool. That should be fun!

I decided that since I would be swimming on a more regular basis, I needed  to sew a pool kaftan which will take me from my apartment to the pool and back.  I didn’t have a kaftan pattern and didn’t want to buy one as I thought it should be relatively simple to sew.  I decided to  go with the tribal trend. Here’s my tribal kaftan which I think have the potential to be wore out as well, either on its own or with skinny jeans.

I cut two rectangular squares out of the tribal fabric, created a V neck out from the front piece, drafted an external facing for the v-neck using a black scrap fabric and sewed a gold piping onto the facing.  I loved the idea of longer sides so this kaftan ended up with that as well.

This Kaftan is so really easy to sew, it only took me half a day! And because some basic body measurements are taken, it will fit all sizes, even kids. I intend to make a light weight version for visiting the pool and another with a sash for going out.  If there is enough interest, I will post a tutorial for the Kaftan when I sew the next one. I have to look through the stash first.  And if I can’t find suitable fabric to go with my retro swimsuit, it will be a priority when I go on holiday in October.  I am so excited, I can’t wait to tell you more about my next theme!  This project will probably take me to the end of September now that I am going to start swimming. I’m still busy researching and matching my stash to patterns. I found it pretty challenging as it is not easy matching my existing stash and the fabric requirement of this new theme…will tell you more about it tomorrow. Happy Monday!


10 thoughts on “Esther William Swimsuit & Tribal Kaftan

  1. I love this! So simple, but very cool too. I wish I was going on holiday where I could wear a kaftan like this..maybe next year. Would love a tutorial though!!

  2. HELLO!!

    i was pretty thrilled when i first read your blog! first sewing blog i chanced upon who is by a fellow Singaporean! 🙂 it seems like there are more “ang mohs” doing sewing and blogging about it! 🙂

  3. i recently purchased a retro style swimsuit too! it’s the low bikini line that makes retro swimwear so appealing to me. love your polka dot one!

    and great job on the kaftan. you’ve given me an inspiration to make one for myself! 🙂

  4. I just found your blog through SewMamasew. I was looking at the Flicker site and saw the tribal kaftan. I’ve been looking for a pattern like this since I saw a similar one on another website that came from a Burda Pattern. But I havent been able to find a pattern. It would be wondrful if you would do a tutorial. Your clothes are amazing. I’m a beginner myself. Now I’m going to look at the rest of your blog for more interesting stuff. thanks..Marilyn

Leave a Reply

