Self-Stitched-September starts today!

Oh my goodness! How time flies! On 2 June 2010, I signed up for Self-Stitched-September (SSS) with this commitment:

‘I, Adey (The Sew Convert), sign up as a participant of Self-Stitched-September. I endeavour to wear at least one handmade item of clothing every day for the duration of September 2010′.

Though it has been 3 months of rather intensive sewing for me, it felt just like I’ve made the commitment yesterday!  In preparation for SSS, I bought a YKK zipper foot. So, I will be changing some of the normal zippers on my Made-Me garments to invisible zippers tomorrow. I tried out the gadget yesterday and was very pleased!

Today I wore what I named my Bella and Mr Bump outfit. My black and white Bella shorts (made-me item) paired with a brownish grey Mr Bump tee (Yeap, he lives in the same town as Mr Happy & Mr Tickle). I took a photo of myself while collecting a UPS parcel here. Not a very good shot but since I promised my prince to take some photos with him after school today at the park, I am hoping to capture a few better shots. He is more intrigued with the tripod than the camera at this point!

Since it’s a month of wearing Made-Me items, I should really try my best to documents photos from each day, preferably outdoors. At least that shows I’ve gone outside my comfort zone and wore the garments I made out of the house. Also, I’m getting quite bored with seeing my white wall behind every one of my outfits and probably you too…LOL. So, that’s something ‘extra’ I’ll be doing in September. I will most likely be updating on SSS every three to four days but here’s the post to jump-start it all!

I have not blogged much this week.  I spent the last two days working on my new project and have just finished making the dress this morning. I love it and can’t wait to show it to you. This dress is the reason behind my first muslin and I need to get some photos taken and a tutorial written out. Photos will most likely come next week as it’s my princess’ school holiday today and on Friday, it’s my prince’s turn. Next week, I shall start on my Bella jeans (Yes, I have decided to go with the high-waisted jeans) and work on my Alexander dress.

Oh! Back to the parcel I received today! Don’t you love receiving parcels especially when you know there are pretty stuff in them! I am now the proud owner of not just one but two pairs of Irregular Choice shoes! Yipee!!! Meet Oz Bow Court and Future Ladybug Polka Dot! Unusual and comfortable- perfect combo for shoes! I got them from Schuh. Much cheaper than Irregular Choice’s online store and international shipping rates are fabulous compared to other stores I’ve checked out! 10GBP versus 45GBP!

I am pretty excited to participate in SSS and will be visiting the blogs of other participants listed here and I hope you will too! Give us some encouragement will you?

Have a great day! I’m looking forward to some swimming, zipper sewing and tutorial writing tomorrow. See ya!

7 thoughts on “Self-Stitched-September starts today!

  1. You encourage me to sew! Your outfits are unique and great looking – love them. I read your blog all the time and love it!

  2. Thanks everyone, I’m really loving these shoes too!
    @quietandsmalladventures: I’m my own photographer and it’s really not easy using the self timer LOL, Yes, more practice required 🙂
    @Gail: Thank you for your sweet message, I’m glad you are encouraged to sew. It’s addictive once you start!
    @4 Bushel Farmgal: Thanks! It is very comfortable and laid back 🙂 The shoe brand is from the UK. I started loving their products a few years back but only bought them now 🙂

Leave a Reply

