Self-Stitched-September: The Finale

I did it and it was so worth it! I’m officially a Self Stitched September graduate LOL!

The last three days were pretty uneventful for me. It was the regular weekday routine but I did try to wear some garments I have yet to put on for SSS. After all, it was the final three days!

Day 28

I wore the summer lovin’ romper but felt a little self-conscious out of the house so I covered some skin with a cardi. It wasn’t a project I planned to sew but a muslin turned romper so no complaints there. How important can sleeves be? VERY! I will need to incorporate sleeves wherever possible. I am quite lost without them as I discovered this month.

Day 29

Two of the garments I am most comfortable wearing made their appearances once again on SSS. Little Folks Blouse and Black & White Bella. The cotton voile of the blouse made it comfortable to wear even on a warm day.

Day 30

I had to end SSS with a dress so I put on my Painter’s Block Melissa, my only knit dress. It was super comfortable. I wore it to the post office (Yes! I have mailed out the package to the giveaway winner!), supermarket and even to sew my Cape Vest 🙂 I might make a couple more of these in solid color fabric as I think I need a few more casual dresses for weekdays.

SSS has not only been gratifying but being a month long challenge, it has the potential of making a habit building impact. I think I am now ready to put on a made-me garment anytime rather than going straight for RTW.

I also got to confess that SSS made me more creative. Initially, I was carrying my tripod around for photo opportunities but as the days passed, my shoe rack became the ‘tripod’ for all these photos with beige/peach wall outside my place, another shelf in my living room was used for snapping all the living room shots and a short pillar at the stairway, the ‘tripod’ for most of my other shots. Improvisation as coverup for my laziness 😛 Here’s a collage of all my SSS outfits, my SSS summary:

While I was growing tired of the daily photo-taking towards the end of month, I must confess seeing the garments in photos reminded me that they looked good enough for a day out and I should make better use of these pieces. I am definitely adopting more made-me garments into my lifestyle and am all for participating in the next made-me month! Hopefully by then, I will be able to up the stake and do a full outfit challenge 🙂

How can I end this post without highlighting some of the many talented seamstresses I have met through SSS. I am now fans of Carolyn S (Handmade by Carolyn) and the stitchywitch(Green Apples)! You must check out their fabulous creations and the amazing outfits they wore for SSS.  I’m a fan! I love Carolyn S’s sense of style and this is my favorite of her outfits. And I absolutely dig the dresses Stitchywitch has made. Here, here and here! I am so gonna miss her blue wall and her version has inspired me to work on my own Roobois! But before that, I have raided my princess’ stash again. I needed some 1 yard fabrics to sew a couple of comfortable home shorts and am planning to try out the bloomer from Colette patterns.

Too cute and the pattern is free! Think I need some instant gratification from sewing these quickly before working on my Twinkle Sews top and Lady Grey! I also gotta start gathering yardage info for fabric shopping in Shanghai….hehehe…can’t wait!

8 thoughts on “Self-Stitched-September: The Finale

  1. Alexandra Mason :
    I have loved following your outfits this month! I have cut the colette bloomers out to wear as pjs but it is freezing here now! Have a lovely weekend.

    I am so glad and relief to hear that, thank you! I wish it was autumn here, it’s terribly hot! The bloomers as PJs is a great idea, thanks for sharing that. Have an awesome weekend!

  2. Congratulations! I loved going through your pictures this month. Isn’t it great how we learn about our fashion preferences through our sewing. Love how you wore what you made and felt comfortable in and looked fabulous doing so. Happy weekend!

  3. Thanks for mentioning my blog – I’m a fan of your creations as well! I’ve enjoyed seeing all of your outfits this month. I also discovered that I need more knit dresses in SSS – they are so easy to wear!

  4. Jali :

    Congratulations! I loved going through your pictures this month. Isn’t it great how we learn about our fashion preferences through our sewing. Love how you wore what you made and felt comfortable in and looked fabulous doing so. Happy weekend!

    Thanks Jali! I am so glad to have completed SSS! I think besides fashion preferences, I am also picking up life lessons along the way:) Have a fabulous weekend too!

  5. stitchywitch :

    Thanks for mentioning my blog – I’m a fan of your creations as well! I’ve enjoyed seeing all of your outfits this month. I also discovered that I need more knit dresses in SSS – they are so easy to wear!

    Thanks you!!! Yes, I was kind of missing knit dresses during SSS so I can completely understand that!

Leave a Reply

