Made Me March 2011: The First Week

It’s been a week since the commencement of MMM2011 and this year I’ve decided to do the summaries a little more systematically. I want to list the activities I’ve done in the outfit, the places I’ve visited in them, the number of hours I was in them and whether I would like to wear them again. While I’d committed myself to wear one made me item everyday this month, I would want to wear a complete made me outfit whenever possible and if I didn’t manage to, I would like to identify clearly my items of lack so I’d know what I need to work on! In terms of photos, I should be having lots of living room shots given that I’m trying my best to go outdoors for my TSW shots.

Gosh! I didn’t know planning an outdoor shoot can take that much effort till now so kudos to those committed to it!

Day 1 (Tuesday)

 

Top: Love Tunic (Sewing Pattern: Adapted from Tunic dress from Built By Wendy Dresses book)

Bottom: Refashioned denim shorts (LACK!!!)

Hours worn: 10 hours

Places visited: Post Office, Kids’ Schools

Main activities: Sewing, surfing and blogging

Number of times I have worn the top: Approximately 5 times

Wear Again: Definitely! It’s one of my beach, pool, resort, casual staples:)

Day 2 (Wednesday)

Outfit: Never Say Never Dress (Sewing Pattern: Burda magazine 11/2010)

Hours worn: 10 hours

Places visited: CBD (Raffles Place, Robinson Road), Orchard Road (Plaza Singapura), kids’ schools

Main activities: Breakfast with hubby, errands and shopping.

Number of times I have worn the outfit: More than 5 times

Wear Again: Absolutely! It’s so now, so comfortable and easy to move in.

Day 3 (Thursday)

Top: Hoot Hoot Blouse (Sewing Pattern: Adapted from Tunic dress from Built By Wendy Dresses book)

Bottom: Ruffles Ruby Shorts (Sewing Pattern: Burdastyle Ruby)

Hours worn: 9 hours

Places visited: Kids’ Schools

Main activities: Sewing

Number of times I have worn the top: Approximately 3 times

Wear Again: Yes, I need to remind myself to wear it more!

Number of times I have worn the bottom: Approximately 10 times

Wear Again: Yes, shorts are a weekday staple!

Day 4 (Friday)

Outfit: Merry Go Round Jumpsuit (Sewing Pattern: Vogue 8554 and shorts my own)

Hours worn: 9 hours

Places visited: Kids’ schools

Main activities: Sewing, surfing, blogging

Number of times I have worn the outfit: Approximately 10 times

Wear Again: Absolutely! I adore it even though hubby always teased that I looked like a Barbie doll!!!???

Day 5 (Saturday)

Originally I wanted to wear my picnic macaron but the zipper is wonky (I gotta get it changed soon!) so I wore the festivity version instead.

Outfit: Festivity Macaron (Sewing Pattern: Colette Pattern’s Macaron)

Hours worn: 8 hours

Places visited: Lunch with parents at a western restaurant, CBD (Suntec City) grocery shopping and petrol station.

Main activities: Family

Number of times I have worn the outfit: Three times

Wear Again: Definitely!

Day 6 (Sunday)

Top: Ivory Kaftan Blouse (Sewing Pattern: My own with tutorial)

Bottom: Retro dots Bella Jeans (Sewing Pattern: Burdastyle’s Bella)

Hours worn: 8 hours

Places visited: Son’s swim class, CBD (Suntec city), church, bottle tree park, Orchid Country Club

Main activities: Family/ recreational

Number of times I have worn the top: Twice

Number of times I have worn the bottom: Approximately 5 times

Wear Again: Definitely:) But not together as the combo made me feel shorter than I am.

Day 7 (Monday)

I was quite surprised that I totally enjoyed wearing this dress on a weekday. I didn’t feel overdressed as the dress is quite casual. My son was so sweet, he told me that I looked beautiful when I picked him up from school and that totally made my day.

Outfit: Blue Garden Frock (Sewing Pattern: )

Hours worn: 9 hours

Places visited: Kids’ school

Main activities: Deciding on what to sew next. I went through too many pattern and fabric combinations!!!

Number of times I have worn the outfit: Three times

Wear Again: YES! I am going to make this a weekday staple.

Day 8 (Tuesday)

After days of woven garments, I needed to wear some knit!

Top: Take Manhattan Tunic (Sewing Pattern: Twinkle Sew by Wenlan Chia)

Bottom: RTW Jeans (LACK!!!)

Hours worn: 10 hours

Places visited: Kids’ Schools, Orchard Road (Centrepoint, Peranakan Place and 313)

Main activities: Facial, shopping

Number of times I have worn the top: Approximately 5 times

Wear Again: Definitely! It’s so comfy!

So that’s my summary for the first week of MMM2011. Lacks: shorts/ jeans. Noted.

I am working on my Pendrells today. Am so hoping to wear them for MMM2011:) Knits, yay!

13 thoughts on “Made Me March 2011: The First Week

  1. Looking fabulous! I love how you’ve adapted the different patterns and styles and made them your own fashion statement. Lovely job sewing and wearing!

  2. I love the Kaftan blouse and those sleeves! All your outfits are great. I’ve been meaning to summarize my first week of MMM so you have reminded me to do so! It’s cold here still (and rainy) so I’ve had to take photos of myself inside for the most part 🙂

  3. Thank you so much!
    @Alexandra: Yay to better structured summaries:)
    @Amanda: I hope the sunny weather reaches you soon and can’t wait to see your updates on MMM!
    @Sophia:Wow, you are the second person who choice that as a fave. Perhaps I should make another, I really enjoyed wearing it!
    @Lauren: Thanks so much, my son told me I have to wear dresses only to fetch him when he saw me in a blouse/ shorts combo yesterday LOL!
    @Debi: It has been fun indeed. Wished you joined us:)
    @Jali: Thanks so much for the encouragement!
    @Vanessa: It’s one of my faves of the moment!

  4. The festivity macaron dress is gorgeous! Reminded me of the cheongsams they sell at tong tong friendship store. So well done!

  5. Thank you for the pictures. You look amazing each and every day. I just found the Built by Wendy book at the library and after seeing what you did with the designs, it is definitely on the “to Buy” list. I also have the Twinkle Sews book and made the Next Big Thing for my daughter. It turned out beautifully and she loves it but I had to do a lot of checking on the sizing. I found the directions regarding sizing confusing. Did you have any problem with this, or do you have any sizing recommendations on the Twinkle book?

    Thanks so much, I can’t wait to see your upcoming outfits!

    Lisa
    Pink Hollybush Designs

  6. Thank you Lisa! The sizing on Twinkle Sews can be quite confusing. It’s not typical pattern sizing to start off with ( I’m size 12 on most patterns but a 4 or 6 for the book) And if I’m not wrong, the sizes she gave are based on the finished garment size not your body size so you will have to add in some inches to get the correct size. The sizes if I recall correctly cos’ I’ve not worked on a project from it for sometime is like 0, 4, 8 etc so if you and between sizes, you might have to find the middle point which means printing out lots of paper. I’ve been wanting to do the ‘next big thing’ dress but is fearful that I might not be able to do an advanced level project from the book.

Leave a Reply

