Made Me March 2011: The Second Week

We are into the last two weeks of Made Me March! Yes, I’m still excited doing this challenge! Here’re my daily outfits for the second week of MMM2011 finally:)

Day 9 (Wednesday)



Bottom: Black & White Bella (Sewing pattern: burdastyle’s bella)

Hours worn: 9 hours

Places visited: Kids’ schools

Main activities: ‘Supervising’ air-con servicing technicians (my life is that interesting LOL), washing and cutting fabrics

Number of times I have worn the top: More than 7 times

Wear Again: Yes, I love the color and the neckline:)

Day 10 (Thursday)

Dress: A Frock By Friday Shirtdress (Sewing pattern: Free from Bernina and missing collar here )

Hours worn: 7 hours

Places visited: Kids’ schools

Main activities: Sewing

Number of times I have worn the dress: Around 5 times

Wear Again: Yes, it’s rather suitable for casual weekdays. Only thing is the fabric isn’t that comfortable so this dress might be replaced once I’ve made a better version.

Day 11 (Friday)

My mum told me that a major earthquake hit Japan today (we were booked to visit Tokyo and Hokkaido in July) but I didn’t realize how serious it was till I watched the news at night. We were deeply saddened by scenes of the tsunami and earthquake. Hubby and I had our honeymoon in Japan many years ago where we visited Sendai and as the Shinkansen we took went passed Fukushima, I remembered telling hubby how beautiful the mountains were and how I wished to visit the place in future. We prayed for the people affected and I started checking out Japanese sewing blogs and was relieved that our Japanese sewing/blogging comrades are fine. I have also learnt to cherish and love our family and friends more through the tragedy. As I wrote to the ryokans we have booked to make cancellations rather reluctantly, the owners told us they were still experiencing aftershocks and hope things would get back to normal soon. I hope so too.


Top: Store bought Knit Top (Lack)
Bottom: Red Denim Ruby (Sewing pattern: burdastyle’s ruby)

Hours worn: 8 hours

Places visited: Kids’ schools

Main activities: Sewing! This combo is great to sew in, so comfy!

Number of times I have worn the bottom: Around 10 times

Wear Again: Yes, I love the color and the ribbon trim!.

Day 12 (Saturday)

Dress: The Floraide Frock (Sewing Pattern: Colette Pattern’s Oolong)

Hours worn: 5 hours

Places visited: Doctor’s (PD) clinic, coffee shop and shopping malls

Main activities: It’s  family day:)

Number of times I have worn the bottom: Twice

Wear Again: Yes,  it’s lovely to wear and I love the vibrancy of the print.

Day 13 (Sunday)


Top: Peekaboo Sleeve Tara (Sewing Pattern: burdastyle’s Tara)
Bottom: Black & White Bella shorts (again!)

Hours worn: 6 hours

Places visited: Lunch with parents at Fat Cat cafe, grocery shopping

Main activities: Family fun!

Number of times I have worn the top: Around 7 times. I made the top when I was still nursing my lil princess so the bodice is slightly big for me now. I pin it together with a brooch but will have to modify it slightly with the machine soon.

Wear Again: Definitely;)

Day 14 (Monday)

Top: Nani Iro Tunic (Sewing Pattern: Japanese sewing book)
Bottom: Refashioned denim shorts (Lack!)

Hours worn: 9 hours

Places visited: Kids’ schools

Main activities: Newspaper reading, sewing as usual:) and some fabric washing.

Number of times I have worn the top: Around 5 times

Wear Again: Yes, love the double gauze fabric. The tunic is super duper comfy!

Day 15 (Tuesday)

Dress:A letter to St Patrick Dress (Sewing pattern: vintage simplicity 6327 for bodice)

Hours worn: 7 hours

Places visited: Centrepoint (shopping mall), Emerald Hill, Plaza Singapura (shopping mall), kids’ schools

Main activities: Photo taking and shopping

Number of times I have worn the dress: Once

Wear Again: Yes, I am sure it will become a weekday staple:)

Day 16 (Wednesday)

Dress: Giddy with Polka Dots Dress (Sewing pattern: Simplicity 2591)

Hours worn: 5 hours

Places visited: Doctor(PD), Kids’ schools

Main activities: Bringing my girl to the doctor and sewing

Number of times I have worn the dress: Twice

Wear Again: Absolutely!

I actually failed to meet my target on Day 17 and 18 as my kids and myself were all down with flu and stayed home (mostly in bed) on medication. Nonetheless, I will still try my best to meet the one made-in item a day target for the rest of March.

Wish me luck:)

6 thoughts on “Made Me March 2011: The Second Week

  1. I LOVE your Giddy With Polka Dots dress. It is so adorable, looks like it came right out of Modcloth. I love your blog, you are so talented. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

