Behind the Seams: “The Plain Sailing” Dress

Meet the plain sailing dress, plain and simple on the front…Lots more fun on the back:)

Cute? No?

Okay, how about this. But, you mustn’t tell anyone okay?

there is a school of fish in my pockets..

Doesn’t that up the adorable quotient?

How about the ric rac braid I used to embellish the neckline? Those were fun waves to create 🙂

No? What if I told you the dress was created from the pattern 79.8% of you voted as more hideous? McCall’s 9619 from the year 1985?

McCall’s 9619 (1985)

I hope you can see the cuteness that was born out of this not so cute sewing pattern. That’s the theme for The Sew Weekly Challenge this week “You can’t judge a pattern by its envelope cover”. You can find my post here. And what a fun project to do all thanks to Mena’s fabulous idea!

I didn’t get the opportunity to combine the two ‘hideous’ patterns lined up for the poll unfortunately as brilliantly suggested by some of you. My kids and I were feeling pretty ill the entire week and I had to opt for the easiest route, I hope to create that “brilliant idea” dress one day in red like this ASOS dress I found online with a real sailor collar.

It rained and rained as I waited for sunny sky in vain so I folded some paper boats and ended up having to snap pix indoors this week. Behind the Seams is rather lean but will plump up once I’m better.

Have a great week everyone!


19 thoughts on “Behind the Seams: “The Plain Sailing” Dress

  1. That dress is insanely cute, and it looks amazing on you! I love how you taken a pattern that from the packet looks a little… frumpy? and turned it into THAT! Very inspirational 🙂

  2. lol! you’re amazing. and really brave in challenging a “conventional” mindset to what is deemed “hideous”. great job done to the dress! 🙂

  3. Looks like lots of fun to wear! All the little features put together makes the dress really inspirational. The pattern photo should be updated with your pretty pictures:).

  4. This shade of blue really complements your complexion, and the waist detail emphasizes slim waist, skirt and sleeve shape show off hour-glass goddess.
    Love it!!!
    PS.
    After seeing your creating, I am full of energy now. Thank you!

  5. It is such a happy blue dress! Well done for bringing so much fun and cuteness into what many (including myself!) think is hideous. Get well soon!

  6. Thank you so much everyone! We are much better today and I’m so glad you think the dress is cute:) Yay to hideous pattern covers…there’s hope after all! LOL!
    @Andrea K: Yay to Irregular Choice shoes!

  7. Very nice! I’ve been ‘stalking’ your site for a while and I absolutely LOVE your handmade clothes! I’m so inspired to sew something right now. Maybe I should start off with a pair of jammies! haha. 😀 PS: The fishies in your pocket… SO CUTE!!!!! 😀

  8. OMG! I have a very similar hideous McCall’s pattern! It’s the same sleeves and back (with a pointed bodice front) however it’s a two piece dress with the skirt having a terrible and dated elastic waistband. I have been pondering trying to create a 1 piece dress or maybe an apron from it(the back is really just so sweet)and now I’ll have to try it. Yours just turned out so super cute that it’s worth the reworking.

Leave a Reply

