Behind the Seams: The “Au Revoir” Dress

A group of Sew Weekly readers met up in London this week (read Debi’s fabulous post here) and in conjunction with the event, the TSW theme is Rule Britannia! We were to make something red, white & blue (or one main color with the others as accessories). While I couldn’t be there for the meet up, I decided to dress up (yes, with hat and vintage gloves :P) as if I were attending the event for this week’s photoshoot. Check out my TSW post for more photos, learn why this is named the “au revoir dress” and find out where the missing red is here.

The photo shoot venue this week is the Tanjong Pagar Railway station which is operated by the Malaysian train company until the end of June 2011. Officially opened by the British Governor Sir Cecil Clementi Smith on 3 March 1932, the station’s architectural style is strongly European and said to be influenced by the architect of Finland’s Helsinki Station, Eliel Saarinen.

The entrance to the station is marked by four towering statues, symbols of Malaya’s economic pillars. They are named Agriculture, Commerce, Transport and Industry; each personification holding symbols unique to their character.

It has also been the starting point of many Eastern and Oriental Express journeys. I sure wished I was going on a luxurious Eastern and Oriental Express journey on rail but alas I’m only dressed for it 😛

I didn’t get to sew much after finishing this dress last week as hubby was on leave Friday to Tuesday. It was absolutely great for family bonding and I got to take a short sewing break as well. We managed to spend some couple time together when the kids were at school and he was so sweet to have snapped my TSW photos this week at the railway station. After that we spent an enjoyable morning strolling through the newly opened ArtScience Museum at Marina Bay Sands as I wanted to view the Salvador Dali exhibition. At the entrance to the museum, hubby snapped what  I thought was a really nice photo of the dress. And you get to see how I would normally wear the dress in warm weather Singapore, sans hat and gloves.

The pattern used was View A from Simplicity 2591 Threads Magazine Collection, the same sewing pattern I’ve used for the Giddy with Polka Dots dress. This is the second dress pattern I have reused, the first being Colette Pattern’s Macaron and I am certain I’m not stopping at two.  So, major thumbs up for a pattern cover that didn’t look this promising. It’s always a joy to use one that delivers more than it promises! The fabric is a burn out navy blue cotton from chinatown, a European fabric I was told while the lace applique, which I handstitched onto the front centre bodice piece, is from etsy. Only the skirt portion of the dress is lined as I liked the semi sheer effect of the burn out pattern on the bodice. Here’s are some shots taken at the Dali showcase.


And just for the fun of it, how the au revoir dress could have looked through the eyes of surrealism.

I am absolutely in love with this dress and know I’m gonna be wearing it often, just like the polka-dotted version:)

Have a blessed week everyone!

17 thoughts on “Behind the Seams: The “Au Revoir” Dress

  1. Oh gosh!! I really, really like this one! The lace applique matches the ‘3D effects’ of the fabric. This is one of my favourites too.

  2. What a lovely dress, very ladylike. The applique lace is a lovely touch, and a great example of how using a bit of imagination can really make a dress stand out.

  3. Lovely! I like the way you use the applique lace: it gives me a new idea on how to incorporate lace in a piece of garment. I’m a die-hard fan of lace 🙂

  4. this is so very cool. you really took this awesome pattern to a different UNIVERSE of level with that applique! i’m off to see where the red is (i love that you have different tidbits across the posts!)

  5. What a dress ! What a wonderfull style ! I really like it. Very beautifull. This suits you well. Have a nice week.

  6. Pingback: The incidental tourists « The Sew Convert

  7. Pingback: Your favorite dress and my 2011 sewing targets | The Sew Convert

  8. What a gorgeous dress! Love the added details… Appliqué and stylish hat. If you are ever ready to part with the pattern please let me know. It’s so hard to find!

Leave a Reply

