Heads up and the “fighting back” red lace dress

Hi everyone, remember my 40s Sweetheart dress for Valentines?

40s sweetheart dress

Some of you asked me about the pattern then and my copy was the only one I had seen. But while browsing through ebay recently, I actually saw another copy of it. The 1942 Du Barry 5357 is up for bidding from bluehearse if you are keen.

This week for the Sew Weekly Challenge, I made another red dress for the Hitchcock inspired theme. Can you guess the source of my inspiration? It’s pretty easy 🙂

Did you guess right? I was inspired by this red lace dress worn by Grace Kelly in ‘Dial M for Murder’.

But, my dress looks so different? Find out more about my thought process and the ‘struggles’ I went through to get this dress done on my TSW post here. I can only say red lace is tricky and not everyone can look as elegant as Princess Grace in this outfit.

Or you can also laugh at my reenactment of the ‘fight back with the murderer’ scene with various ‘weapons’ out of which one is the right choice.
My pattern of choice in the attempt to make the impossible- a casual as possible, demure, sexy in a subtle way red lace dress- was Project 6 from Japanese sewing book ‘Retrospective is Stylish’. My conclusion is red lace can never really be casual though I do think my dress turned out rather demure and not too sexy 🙂

I modified the sleeves, skirt length and shape for the final dress but I wanted to put on record this: Beware of the collar piece. The collar worked great at the sides and back but didn’t sit properly in front until I shortened it but that in turned caused another problem, this time, the collars didn’t meet in the centre. What I did was to draft two smaller arcs, additional collar pieces to create something like a petal collar. Other than that the pattern was not difficult to sew.

The petal collar in my opinion actually made the dress more demure which was what I wanted in the first place. What joy a fluke incident brings!

Have a blessed week everyone, I am flying off tomorrow night so see you in August!

15 thoughts on “Heads up and the “fighting back” red lace dress

  1. Fabulous dress Adey! I love lace so much and you did a great job on it…I love how you revised the collar as well! Have a lovely time on holiday!

  2. Hi!

    I’m just wondering, where did you learn how to sew? Or can you recommend any good places to learn dressmaking in Singapore?

    I’m in total awe of your work btw.

  3. Good morning! How depressing that you have sold the sweetheart pattern already. Would have loved to by a remake of it. Oh well, what can y do, I guess I will just have to continue looking… Sigh…!
    Have a lovely weekend, looking forward to seeing what y come up with in the future
    M

  4. занимательно послушать личностей,которые сейчас знают, чем мочь удивить транссексуалы Москвы. Я по личной нраву экспериментатор. ранее соскакивал с парашютом, с эстакады на каучуке, курсировал на гондоле по голубой реке. И не вдаваясь в подробности проститутки Москвы постоянно охота попробовать все в бытии. гляди и навестила меня намерение узнать на своем опыте подобный вид интим услуги. какого дьявола в конечном счете необходимо быть готовым? вот как себя направлять с данными особями? Проститутки Москвы, с которыми мне доводилось контактировать, ничего о трансах существенного поведать не могут. возможно они какое-то собственное сообщество, закрытое от чужих взоров. Я просто не знаю где их возможно столкнуться, помимо как не в интернете.

Leave a Reply

