Two mod dresses and a pin-up

The family will be off to Hong Kong mid December till 2012 so I’ve been sewing, sewing and sewing, trying my best to finish all my Sew Weekly projects for this year. In addition to that, my boy has taken up Taekwondo with 3 hours of lessons a week and lil princess, not to be outdone, has also started ballet lessons and is surprisingly attentive in class. These have kept me swamped as well but in a really good way:)

Hence, the lack of new bog posts.

Things might only get crazier here as my Indonesian helper will be going home for two weeks later this month. This would most likely mean I’m gonna be spending more time cooking than sewing and definitely not likely to be blogging.  This might be my last post here until she returns in early December. But, not to worry, with my birthday coming, I’ll be scheduling a giveaway between now and my return to this blog space.

Here are the projects I’ve done for the past 3 weeks. On top of these, I’ve sewed another knit dress (not for Sew Weekly) and two hobo bags (mum and daughter versions) as birthday presents for my old friend and her gal. I’ve yet to find time to photograph these but will post once I find time and if I still remember them. kekeke

Theme: The Color Orange

Project: The Orange Tab dress

Vintage 1960s sewing pattern front and my modified back as inspired by Prada. Orange isn’t my color but I’m happy to have it as a contrast color. More info on my TSW post here.

Theme: Pin up

Project: The “Much Needed Curves” Dress

Yes, it’s a macaron! My evil twin Curvy Kitty took over for this pin-up project and writeup. Find out more here.

Theme: The Burdastyle Sewing Handbook 

Project: The Mod Oriental Dress 

This amazing sewing book was mailed to us with compliments and there are so many projects I wanted to try. In the end, I sewed a mod oriental dress which I could wear for Lunar New Year in January. Here’s the original burdastyle dress pattern I used. More  on the project and the modifications I made to the pattern here. Off course, I was happy to sew another book based project to fulfill my Craft Book Challenge target;) I have not been doing book based projects as much as I wanted to for the past couple of months as I ran out of tracing paper and Spotlight stopped selling them. A  couple of weeks ago, I found a shop in Chinatown selling them in bulk and bought lots. Now, I’m back to the books.

Have a blessed week!

P/S: I’ve received quite a number of emails and tried to respond to as many as I could. If I missed yours, please resend them and I will followup. Thank you and happy sewing!

11 thoughts on “Two mod dresses and a pin-up

  1. Sounds like you have a busy but fun December planned!! Your kids are so cute!!

    Good luck on the sewing–I’ve absolutely LOVED all your recent projects! Hard to believe it’s almost the end of TSW!!!! eep!!

    Oh…I am also hosting a giveaway for the Butterick pattern that I got from you in the swap…I’m calling it the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pattern!!! I can’t wait to see where it goes!! 🙂

  2. oh, i like the mod oriental dress. makes me think i ought to start sewing something similar instead of always dreaming about it. of course i love the other two dresses too. i think the macaron pattern is made for you.

    how funny i was just thinking if my son would be keen in taekwondo.
    have a great holiday! 🙂

  3. Am loving the orange tab dress best but love the other two as well. I certainly need to get to sewing myself some dresses soon…

    The little ones seem very much into each of their activities. Loving the pictures. Hope all of you have a safe and happy holiday once the busy-ness is over!

  4. hey there!
    I am in total AWE!!!! I am a singaporean living in sydney, married my aussie sweetheart and have two beautiful kids, 4 and 18 mths. Have just started sewing and lurve making clothes for my daughter and attempting to finish stuff for myself. But I must say, your talent has blown me away and is very inspirational!!! keep it coming…lovin the whole vintage vibe

  5. Debi :
    Sounds like you have a busy but fun December planned!! Your kids are so cute!!
    Good luck on the sewing–I’ve absolutely LOVED all your recent projects! Hard to believe it’s almost the end of TSW!!!! eep!!
    Oh…I am also hosting a giveaway for the Butterick pattern that I got from you in the swap…I’m calling it the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pattern!!! I can’t wait to see where it goes!!

    Thanks Debi! They are growing up so fast! Your giveaway sounds really interesting, have fun!

  6. fiona :
    oh, i like the mod oriental dress. makes me think i ought to start sewing something similar instead of always dreaming about it. of course i love the other two dresses too. i think the macaron pattern is made for you.
    how funny i was just thinking if my son would be keen in taekwondo.
    have a great holiday!

    Thanks Fiona! My boy has become healthier and stronger since he took up taekwondo. I think it is also good training for memory (cos you have to remember the stance, punches and kicks) and learning to focus. The youngest to start is around 3 years old. If your son is keen then do let him go for it:)

  7. Jali :
    Am loving the orange tab dress best but love the other two as well. I certainly need to get to sewing myself some dresses soon…
    The little ones seem very much into each of their activities. Loving the pictures. Hope all of you have a safe and happy holiday once the busy-ness is over!

    Thank you Jali and I hope to see more dresses on your blog:P

  8. sharon :
    hey there!
    I am in total AWE!!!! I am a singaporean living in sydney, married my aussie sweetheart and have two beautiful kids, 4 and 18 mths. Have just started sewing and lurve making clothes for my daughter and attempting to finish stuff for myself. But I must say, your talent has blown me away and is very inspirational!!! keep it coming…lovin the whole vintage vibe

    Hi Sharon, thank you and it’s great to know another Singaporean who sews for her kids and herself too:)

  9. Pingback: The Peekaboo Post. New Year Resolutions and Wish list. « The Sew Convert

  10. Pingback: A Poll: It’s a mad mad mad mad world! | The Sew Convert

  11. Pingback: Your favorite dress and my 2011 sewing targets | The Sew Convert

Leave a Reply

