Nautical Inspired Emery Dress

I have just returned from a two-night staycation on Sentosa Island, having a blast with the family at Universal Studios Singapore, and street testing my wearable muslin. This nautical inspired number is fast becoming a favorite wear of mine with its flattering vintage silhouette,  adorable collar/waist bow details and fabulous fit.  While there is a vintage feel to it, I didn’t sew this from a vintage pattern. IMG_6329

 It is the newly announced Emery Dress pattern by the very talented Christine Haynes which is now available for pre-sales and I am honored to be one of the pattern testers!
Emery_Dress_Drawing
View A comes with short set-in sleeves and flat 1960’s bow at the center of the waist. View B has 3/4 length set-in sleeves and a flat pointed collar.   Both versions come with an invisible zipper in the center back seam, waist darts in the front and back, bust darts, back of the neck darts, and in-seam pockets. I sewed View A but added the collar from View B (who could resist?!).

Emery dress CU The main fabric I chose was a navy blue checked cotton with red twin dotted swiss and a white dotted swiss for the collar and insides of pockets, both from my stash.  I cut and sewed a size 6 (pattern is available from size 0 to 18) from the pattern sent to me without modification except for lengthening the bodice as I’m long-waisted. This is something I do for almost all patterns.Emery dress side I was already falling in love with this dress while fitting the bodice and thought it would make a delightful sleeveless dress as well.  The darts provided magnificent shaping to the bodice. The side view is very flattering with the fitted bodice and full gathered a-line skirt. And who doesn’t love in-seam pockets? Emery dress back CU This is an intermediate pattern. Instead of finishing with facings, the bodice is finished with a lining piece after zipper insertion giving it a very clean finish. The emery dress pattern comes with clear instructions and I find the illustrations very useful. Christine will be hosting a sewalong on her blog with collar, skirt and sleeves variations not included in the pattern come mid October. Can’t wait to check out all the variations! When a bodice fits this well, it only makes sense to make many variations of it.Emery dress I was actually sewing my Asymmetrical Geometric Dress half way when I received the Emery dress pattern on a Friday afternoon. I went to work immediately and managed to cut the fabric. However, I couldn’t sew over the weekend due to family commitment and was utterly surprised that I managed to finish sewing the dress by Monday afternoon. The waist bow was added last-minute on Tuesday morning before these photos were taken.  A pretty fast and gratifying project I would say:) August has been a very fruitful sewing month for me as I managed to sew not 1, 2 but 3 dresses. And do check out the many gorgeous makes from ladies who participated in the Sew Weekly Reunion. You can find all contributors’ posts here  as well as creations from the lovely Sarah, Veronica and Debi! I am inspired and I think receiving all these lovely creations in my inbox throughout the month of August has made me sew productive! I hope they  inspire you as much as they did me! Have a blessed week!

36 thoughts on “Nautical Inspired Emery Dress

  1. This is a great endorsement for the pattern, I’m sure Christine is very happy. Your dress is divine! I especially love that you matched the collar to the dress by picking equally textured fabrics and the fit is just perfect.

  2. Pingback: The Emery Dress Buzz | Béa's Sewing Adventures

  3. Pingback: The Silk Velvet Emery Dress and Pattern Giveaway! | The Sew Convert

  4. Hello! I love your fabric choice, do you mind to share the store name from where you purchased the fabric? Thank you🙂

  5. Thank you for sharing! For the shop’s sake I hope they’ve finished selling the fabric😉 but I will still pop by to see if they have other pretty fabric soon🙂 Thank you once again!

  6. Pingback: An Amazing Start to 2014! | The Sew Convert

  7. Pingback: Dresses for Lunar New Year | The Sew Convert

Leave a Reply

