The Silk Velvet Emery Dress and Pattern Giveaway!

Here’s my Emery Dance!
Velvet emery
Because I am SO glad I completed the dress!
IMG_6921
I never thought I would sew the longer sleeve version of the Emery dress but somehow, I think this dark purple silk velvet fabric (one of the 2 silk velvet fabrics I own) with a burnout floral border design begged to be match-made. Fact is, I have been looking for a design just like the Emery to use my border print fabrics! I am a serious border print hoarder but not so long ago, I realized most of my vintage pattern stash is filled with dresses with more than a handful of skirt pieces. Not so border print friendly indeed! But, the Emery dress pattern by Christine Haynes is perfect for border prints!
IMG_6920
Working with silk velvet…that’s another story. All I can say is, sewing this project was full of dramatic moments. I was fortunate enough to have a fabulous pattern to work with (see my first version here), otherwise this could have ended up a UFO (unfinished object). Besides lengthening the bodice, the only pattern adjustment I made was to shorten the sleeves to elbow length.

IMG_6898

While I’ve sewed with its cousin corduroy, it’s my first attempt sewing with any velvet. Cord was super easy to cut and sew. I’m not sure if all velvets behave badly but this one was a nightmare. It was slippery to cut, slippery to sew and I had to go at snail speed with the darts and pinned like there’s no tomorrow! Unlike most of my border print fabrics where the print is on the selvage, the border on this one appears on intervals across the fabric.  So, I’m really happy with how the burnout floral design matches perfectly at the side and back seams.  As with all my sewing projects nowadays, I cut all pieces on a single layer of fabric. I tried marking the back of the velvet with my usual fabric marking pens but they disappeared within minutes😦 Unpicking this fabric can be a nightmare. Photographing details was tough too. I don’t foresee myself sewing with velvet for a long long time.

IMG_6907

I used a pink silk organza for the bodice lining as it lends body to the otherwise very drapey velvet. I was left with some hand-stitching when I posted my last blog post but what happened next was unexpected. The zipper teeth at the skirt section came apart after I wore the dress to show my daughter! And I was still in the dress! I was trapped! I kinda panicked and didn’t know what to do. Hubby came home at the right time and suggested cutting the the zipper. Which was what we did to get me out of the dress. Fortunately, the cut only created a tiny hole on the seam allowance of the zipper, nothing time couldn’t ‘heal’. I panicked so much I think I cried a little so the first thing my seven-year old boy said to me when he got home from school today was, “Mama, next time please don’t cry because of your fabric.” This photo was taken when I eventually calmed down and was unpicking the lining, followed by the zipper. l bought a replacement zipper over the weekend but didn’t get to sew. The dress was finished this morning.

IMG_5210

I am just too happy to finally finish this dress and to have used this fabric!

IMG_6924

If you are looking for a dress pattern that’s vintage inspired, finishes beautifully, has lots of variation potential, in seam pockets and is fabulous for border print fabrics, you have to check out the Emery dress pattern! Christine is hosting a sewalong from late October with the Emery Parade happening 16 December.

emerysewalong

Lots of time to think about the variations to sew. I’m gonna sew at least another version for the sewalong! (I’ve already cut the fabric🙂 ) And here’s your chance to win a copy of the dress pattern for yourself and join in!

Emery-Cover

To participate, simply leave a comment and include your email address before 14 October 2013.  This is open to anyone, anywhere around the world. One winner will be selected by Random. org .

Have a blessed week!

89 thoughts on “The Silk Velvet Emery Dress and Pattern Giveaway!

  1. Oh I love this! And I think I really love this dress design… I’ve got a border print stashed as well…
    I know what you mean about photography velvet, as a craft magazine editor we used to discourage people making things from velvet as it’s so hard to shoot, the pile makes it swallow the light and the darker the fabric that harder it becomes.
    Mauve colours used to be a no-no too as the printing process often turned it more grey than it was in reality… oh the things you learn!

  2. Hi Adey, I love all your versions of the Emery so far, they convinced to make one as well. The bodice looks so well fitted on both your versions! So I would looove to win this pattern!

  3. Oh wow, this is so pretty! It was definitely worth the zip-wrangling!
    I’d love to take part in the sew-along, so thanks for the chance to win the pattern!

  4. You are a fine funny lady that really make me laugh out loud reading your blog
    You look beautiful and classy in this dress
    It’s amazing how your whole family gets involved in your sewing projects.
    And are those dwarfs as heels for your shoes?

  5. ACK! Getting stuck in a dress is my worst nightmare! I’m so glad you managed to salvage the dress without ripping/cutting it!

    I can’t help but think that the Emery dress just seems like the epitome of versatile dress patterns! I like every version of it I’ve seen, but I love this super luxe version of yours!

  6. Your dress turned out beautiful and I am glad you were able to fix the zipper situation. You always have the best fabric. I like the different Emery dress versions,It is a great pattern with many options. Thanks for sharing yours. I am planning on doing the sew-along.

  7. Beautiful work as always! I find velvet nightmarish as well – yet what a fantastic result! You’d never know you had any issues. Gorgeous color.

  8. I love your dress and the Emery pattern! So cute and so many possibilities. Thanks for offering a great giveaway!

  9. Your dress is so elegant! I have always been afraid of velvet, reading your post tells me that my fears were justified but your results is fabulous!

  10. I love your take on this dress, it has convinced me that I should try. So, I’ll try if I’ll be lucky🙂

    RankkaApina(at)gmail.com

  11. Adey! I love your dress! I actually like boarder prints too, but I could never find the perfect one. This one is lovely, and it’s in purple! One of my favorite colors. Your shoes…amazing!🙂 I can’t wait to try out this pattern!🙂

  12. Congratulations on having finished this fabulous dress! I’ve been pondering to sew a velvet dress, too. The silky sheen of yours looks so wonderful, that not even your description of the painful working process will stop me from trying.

  13. Really well fitted dress, perfect for you. You’d never know you had any issues just by looking. And your gnome shoes are amazing.

  14. Wow this dress is stunning and I love both of the versions you made. And the shoes, the SHOES!!! How adorable are they?!?!

    Your son is a sweetie but to be honest I would have had a full on panic attack complete with bawling and stomping:-/

    I would soooooo love to win this, I can see so many different variations with this pattern🙂

  15. This is just a beautiful dress, I hope it was worth the drama! The border along the skirt is so pretty as well, it’s a perfect match with the pattern!
    My email is julietsews (at) gmail (dot) com as well🙂

  16. What a wonderful result – and wow to confirming why I left the luscious blue velvet on the remnants table – but it was so soft, so pattable…… so not nice to sew….😉 Your emery looks definitely worth it – congratulations on taming it – and for many future Emery’s with border prints, yay!!!

  17. Lol! your sons comment had me laughing so loud! ” please don’t cry over your fabric”… Cute! And your dress is gorgeous! I love it, it’s so elegant and the color is beatiful!

  18. Both of your versions are so beautiful! You have really showcased the versatility of the dress! And that velvet one looks gorgeous!

  19. I’m so happy to see such a beautiful creation using a border print! I have been stashing a border print for a few years now, unable to figure out the best way to use it. What a fantastic dress and an intriguing pattern… Good on you for sticking to it!

  20. Your dress is awesome! I have gotten panicky getting stuck in a dress too. I’m glad you were able to save the dress, if not the zipper!
    I’d love to try the Emery pattern – thanks for hosting a giveaway

  21. Hi there from Australia! I love all the patterns you choose! I would love the opportunity to sew along with you! Thanks for the opportunity to win this pattern

  22. Another beauty, well worth the sewing difficulties! I’m glad the zip problem didn’t end up harming your dress too,

    I’d love to be included in the draw for your giveaway – thank you!

  23. Hi Adey! Beautiful statement border along the skirt. Anyway, I’m new to sewing and hooked! Too late for the giveaway, but I bought the Emery dress pattern and can’t wait to sew along.

    So glad to find someone local who sews and blogs !!!(I’m in SG too)

  24. Pingback: “I’ve Gone Nuts” Silk Anna Dress | The Sew Convert

  25. Pingback: Dresses for Lunar New Year | The Sew Convert

Leave a Reply

