An Amazing Start to 2014!

It was an AmaZing Sunday afternoon at the start of 2014 and the weather was just perfect. On the sunny island of Singapore, this was one of those unusually cool and windy days.  Our family visited one of our favorite places, the Gardens By the Bay.Cloud Forest

But this time, something else is different.

Flower dome

Excitement was brewing as we met the Darlings for tea at Pollen. Yes, yes, yes! I got to meet, hug and enjoy the company of Veronica Darling, her very humorous husbie and the adorable baby Darling! I’ve missed Veronica since her visit three years ago and it’s SO good to catch up again! What’s more! She wore the Green Party dress she made from an abstract print fabric I sent her last year! She is as gorgeous as always! I also made a fresh discovery. I now know that I am as thrilled as can be when a sewist friend creates something out of my fabric stash!

Veronica Darling

Some pictures of the food we shared at tea…yum!Tea at Pollen

Tea at PollenWe had a fabulous time visiting the Flower Dome and Cloud Forests at the Gardens and how my kids adore Baby Darling! I’m really excited as we will be visiting the Darlings in June! Can’t wait to catch up again!

And how I can talk about 2014 without thinking back on 2013?

My sewing target for 2013 was an outfit a month and in reality, I managed to sew 15 outfits. One of the new things I wanted to try was to be a pattern tester and was privileged enough to have tested the Emery dress pattern by Christine Haynes and the Goldstream Peacoat by Thread Theory. We also had a reunion with the Sew Weekly girls. I am grateful and seriously happy that I managed to sew consistently despite the lack of time.

11384379103_a621f96522_n

I might be the very last person to do this list (by Gillian) since most sewists posted theirs earlier this month. Nonetheless, here are my Top 5 Hits: Favourite Creations, most worn and most loved by me for 2013

5. Colette Pattern’s Laurel blouse

I made two versions and got lots of wear out of them. 2014 versions are on my “to do” list.Laurel blouse

4. Burdastyle 09/2012 #108

One of the toughest projects I’ve tackled. There’s a strong sense of satisfaction from completing the project. Though I’ve only wore the dress once so far. green lace dress sleeves

3.  Sewaholic’s Renfrew

It’s not something I can wear all the time but definitely something I will continue to wear on winter vacations. One of my fave garment is this 100% wool sweater dress. Such an easy project to sew too!

Wool Renfrew dress

2. Christine Haynes’ Emery dress

I’ve made three Emery dresses so far, two in 2013 and one for the Lunar New Year! My second dress for the Lunar New Year uses its skirt pieces too. Definitely, one of my fave patterns of all times!

Emery dress

1. By Hand London’s Anna

Love this to bits! Wore it too many times. Hubby said it’s his fave dress! Need more versions, one of which is Veronica Darling’s romper!

IMG_7169

And here are my Top 5 Goals for the New Year

1. Winter dresses from vintage patterns

Winter dresses

I love vintage patterns and have been sewing the spring/summer versions all these time. But, with our longer stay in the UK/ Europe next year, I want to sew some winter dresses from the 40s and 50s.

2. Attempt the bound buttonholes and welt pockets.

3. Sew some projects I’ve always wanted to try from Japanese sewing books, Drape Drape and Pattern Magic series and make them wearable.

Drape Drape Volume 1

4. Sew a swimsuit

It took me a LONG time to gather all the notions & stuff. I think I have them all now so I’m ready to take on the  bombshell🙂

BOMBSHELL PROMO

5. As DVF celebrates 40 years of the wrap dress, what better time to sew one?

DVF anniversary

Have a very blessed week and an amazing year of sewing!!! Happy Lunar New Year everyone!

4 thoughts on “An Amazing Start to 2014!

  1. Pingback: The Darlings, the School of Fish Romper and a Giveaway winner | The Sew Convert

Leave a Reply

