Australia Part 3: Hobart

I fell in love with Hobart many years ago. It really does have the freshest air I’ve ever inhaled and some of the freshest produce I’ve ever eaten! Here are some of my fave places to visit and I’m just overjoyed when my son told me he loved Tasmania. Who would have knew? I really thought he would prefer somewhere with theme parks but he told me he loved the nature and scenery right where we were. *squeal*

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunrise from our balcony

So, here are some of our favorite places this trip.

Mount Wellington

It was a very weird morning. It was 2 degrees Celcius on Mount Wellington and 0 degrees in Hobart. So unusual that this piece of news even got onto the front page of the newspaper. Nonetheless, the view was breathtakingly glorious!

image-15

Can you believe that this fog has a name?  It’s called the Bridgewater Jerry and it was so beautiful! Not surprising then that it has its own internet address or a sculpture dedicated to it.

image-16

Stunning view from Mount Wellington

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mount Wellington lookout

Coat: Burdastyle’s Wool Long Coat 08/2012 #101B. Jeans: Burdastyle’s Bella 

Yes, I finally made a winter coat for myself after sewing up 2 for hubby and one each for the kids. I was still hand-stitching the hem the morning we took off. I really didn’t want to wear my RTW black or grey ones.  Australia’s winter is pretty mild so I only wore the coat on two occasions throughout the trip. Definitely bringing this to the UK with me. And, if time allows, I will probably do a separate post for the coat and its details.

Bonorong Wildlife Santuary

We love animals and my kids were so thrilled to hand feed the kangaroos! So was I and it felt totally awesome when this little one held my hand! Aww!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We met baby Wombats

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and the Tasmanian Devil too…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

but nothing beats cuddling a Kangaroo, making a friend or two. Ha!

Girl’s Wool Coat: Pdf patterns from Dear My Kids and blogged here.
image-14
Richmond
Australia’s oldest town with its oldest stone bridge and oldest church built in the 1800s. It’s a perfect little town to explore on foot and one of my favorite places always.
image-12

Lunch at the Richmond Wine Centre & Restaurant

Hubby’s Wool Coat: Vintage Simplicity 6887, blogged here.

Boy’s Wool Coat: Pdf patterns from Dear My Kids and blogged here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

image-11

The fruit tarts from the Richmond Bakery were absolutely delectable! Another must try!

MONA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wool dress with matching scarf: Adapted from Sewaholic’s Renfrew. Striped wool fabric from Moods fabric. I used a yellow rib knit for contrast at the v neckline. Stripes run chevron on the front and vertical on the back. This dress is unblogged but fast becoming a fave. I think it has to do with the color, crazy stripes and the matching scarf.

Girl’s sweater dress: No pattern used. Wool sweater knit from Emma one sock and blogged here.

Tasmania must be rainbow heaven cos we saw so many of them this trip and last!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love rainbows! This was at the MONA cafe.

MONA might have some unusual and controversial displays but what really wowed me was an exhibition of graduation art projects done by Australian youth at the University of Tasmania. I heard this exhibition is touring the country and it’s free. Here are my faves!

image-27

image-28

image-29

Markets!!!

How can a foodie not visit the markets? The Salamanca market on Saturdays is worth a visit for the food and desserts alone.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Grabbing some firewood oven pizzas at the Salamanca market

Sewing BFF Veronica Darling recommended that I visit the Farm Gate Market after I told her we were visiting Hobart. It is a must if you love good food! Veronica raved about the pasta there and we loved Masaaki’s sushi! So many fresh local produce! You got to try the cheeses from Bruny Island!

hobart-sushi

Every Masaaki’s hand roll is an art and a feast for the eyes.

5823274046_0152a8d66b_b

YUMMY!

There are 2 queues at Masaki’s stall, one for pre-made sushi and one for his hand rolls. Both are definitely worth trying. Hubby said it’s a lot better than Nobu in Melbourne and I have to agree! He sells a regular version of his hand roll and one for vegetarian but was so sweet he customized special ones for my kids. I also overheard that the vegetables he used were from his garden! Yes, I can’t stop raving about his sushi!

My kids had a lil competition using my iphone to capture my self made outfit. I couldn’t decide who took a better shot so both are here. What do you think?

image-39

By a 5 year old photographer

image-10

By an 8 year old photographer

Top: Sewaholic’s Renfrew in a textured grey wool jersey

Bottom: Mustard wool pants/Vintage Simplicity 3688. Debi made so many lovely versions of these 40s wide leg pants and I can totally understand why. It’s such a clean and comfortable pattern! I do think they need side pockets so that’s the only change I will make for future versions.

image-40
Have you ever eaten jams from IXL for breakfast? I remembered having them as a kid and here’s the old factory building near the docks. Many of these building have been converted to hotel, cafes and shops. Jam-packed, a cafe in the building is great for tea and free wi-fi.

image-17

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunset at our balcony

Hope you enjoyed this leg of our vacation!
Next up: Melbourne

10 thoughts on “Australia Part 3: Hobart

  1. Just wanted to leave a quick note to say how much I love seeing your blog posts pop up in my email. They always make me smile and I don’t really read blogs anymore. Yours, I do. Always so worth it. Thanks for sharing your vacation photos, it’s really special and somewhere I will probably never be able to visit!

    Happy sewing!

  2. Beautiful. I’m originally from Melbourne, but haven’t visited Tasmania since I was a little kid. I must get there again on one of our trips back home.

  3. Looks stunning. I’ve lived in Australia my entire life and have yet to visit Tassie!
    I cannot believe that your entire travel wardrobe is handmade! Well done!

  4. Agree with you on Tassie – heading over as often as possible (= every 2 – 3 years for longer and in between occasionally for very brief landings with flying friends doing some ‘exercises’ as private pilots.
    Guess you ‘fell’ for quite some art & craft at Salamanca Place😉 ?
    You’re forgiven – it’s not that easy not to do so.

    LG, Gerlinde
    (sitting in Melbourne)

  5. You are about 45 years too late visiting Tasmania. Back then it was the textile capital of Australia.

    There were so many factories making textiles. In Hobart there was a big synthetic and cotton weaving factory owned or managed by the original owners of the Mediterranean mansion which is above the new MONA gallery. They were the Alcorsos. One of their top curtain fabric designers was a Chinese from Malaya.

    In Launceston the British company Patons had an enormous factory where they spun wool for knitting. That closed decades ago. Staff always had heaps of wool to knit and the local shops sold seconds at a very good price.

    In Launceston there was also a mill, Kelsall and Kemps, that produces beautiful woven wool fabric. All the major world airlines bought from there for their pilots and cabin crew uniforms. Some people might remember their baby product called Doctor Flannel.

    There was also a big mill weaving synthetic fabrics, James Nelson.

    One factory remains. It is the Waverley Woollen mills. They have a website. It was closed for a short while and the equipment was auctioned off. One buyer just wanted one piece of equipment for his Melbourne mill but I heard that he saw everything was so cheap that he bought it all and reopened the factory. They still weave fabric and are now world famous for their mohair blankets.

    The factories all closed. They were generally owned by UK firms that took all the profits but never updated the equipment. Fashions changed and the factories had no capacity to make knitted fabrics. Asian countries became more competitive and changes to tariffs in the 1960s were the final straw.

    Launceston was an excellent place for the woollen industry because some of the world’s best wool is grown in the Midlands of Tasmania and Launceston has lovely soft water for processing wool. The best fleeces are bought by the top Italian tailors for the very best men’s suits.

    Tasmanian wool that is still available for knitting is absolutely superb with terrific soft merino yarn. I have seen it for sale in an exclusive knitting shop in Hong Kong.

    Now Tasmanian is famous for its scenery and its wonderful, wonderful food products.

  6. Oh oh oh! this brought back some fantastic memories. My grandparents lived in Hobart, and we visited them quite often in summer holidays. I have cherished memories of Bonorong wildlife park, and a photo of my 9 yr old self holding a baby wombat my siblings holding other baby animals, including a baby tassie devil, long before they were so critically endangered
    And the views from Mt Wellington too… That’s where I first saw snow. Another memory I cherish, especially since I’ve lived most of my life in the tropics😀

    Anyway, thankyou for the trip down memory lane. I’m sure your kids will love the memories of Tassie as much as I do.

    Also, that coat looks beautiful, and very comfy and warm. As do the mustard trousers!

  7. @Lois: I have 2 machines. A Brother BM2600 which was the machine I learnt sewing on and still use a lot. My hubby got me a Pfaff Ambition 1.5 a couple of years ago, which probably cost 10 times more. I use it for specific projects especially knit as it has a knit overlock stitch. But, I think it’s underutilized. Hope that helps:)

Leave a Reply

