White and stripes

Oh gosh! I am sorry I have not been blogging much. The thing is I’ve been feeling so motivated that I am sewing whenever I can! Since my last post, I’ve sewed 8 pieces of garment!  Sewing and brisk walking is making me wake up an hour and a half earlier each day. I think it’s a great use of my time and it’s making me so happy!!!

And because so many sewists are showcasing the Coco by Tilly and the buttons, I decided to post this up first 😛

Coco blouse

My funnel roll neck blouse version is made using a vintage poly double knit which I bought from etsy a year ago. And I adore how it turned out! The fabric was a little translucent and I didn’t have enough of the border print for a dress so I decided to sew a blouse instead. I cut the fabric almost immediately after receiving the pattern and finished sewing it in a couple of hours.

I am one of  those with one pattern sizing for the bust and another for the waist, so I used this easy adjustment guide Tilly posted on her blog together with the finished pattern sizing.

Even though, it meant a longer wait, I chose to purchase the printed version of the pattern. The instruction booklet is not only yummy to look at, the colored photos made each step crystal clear. Definitely something I’ll recommend if you are new to sewing knits. Even if you have been sewing knits, this pattern is simply too adorable to resist. I can’t wait to sew up some short sleeve dress versions. They would be perfect for picking my kids up from school!

Coco blouse

Here you can see one of the matching sides and the back. Coco blouse back

In the photos below, I’ve tucked the blouse in a little so you can see the white denim shorts I made using Kwik Sew 3854.  I wear white shorts a lot. They are surprisingly versatile and a happy addition to my made me wardrobe.

I sewed a size M but found it a little big on the waist. The good thing is it wasn’t too difficult to adjust the positioning of the buttons.

white sailor pants

white sailor shorts

white sailor shorts

We have been without rain for the longest time since the 1960s and the weather has been terribly hot. I think I’m gonna be wearing white, knits and shorts a lot. Come back soon rain! I really miss you!

Coco blouse

30 thoughts on “White and stripes

  1. Beautiful version. I love the funnel neck!
    I have a copy of coco, but am still waiting for my fabric.
    Going to have to team mine with boots and wooly tights as it is pretty cold here in the UK!

  2. I LOVE this top! This is the first version of the Coco I’ve seen that makes me want to give the pattern a try. Great shorts too! I love the whole look!

  3. This outfit is adorable! You always find the best fabric and this stripe border print is another great one! These shorts fit you perfectly too. I can’t wait to see the rest of your recent sewn garment, it’s such a great inspiration for me!

  4. OMG could you be any cuter? Both items are adorable! And I agree, I waited to get the hard copy of the pattern so I could have the booklet. Totally worth it!

  5. The whole outfit is really classy! The stripes on the top: Love!!! I´m looking forward to seeing all the other things you´ve been sewing!

  6. You have such an eye for fabric and style. I am always impressed by your garments and eagerly look forward to your posts. I love this whole outfit and you look amazing. Thank you so much for blogging.

  7. I love your combo of pattern and fabric! You’ll be able to wear this with anything. I wasn’t inspired by this pattern at all when it was released (another t-shirt pattern???) but I have to say I’m loving all the funnel neck versions I’ve seen so far. It’s a winner!

  8. Pingback: Sewing Trends with Rachael | Sew Mama Sew |

  9. I love your version of Coco!! It’s such a good use of the border print! Love your shoes too 😉 I have just discovered your blog, and I must say, you are just beautiful, and your handmade garments suit you so well 🙂

  10. Pingback: Coco Pattern Giveaway from Tilly and the Buttons

  11. Wow 🙂 what a fabric!! At first I didn’t see that this is a Coco! It’s such a widespread pattern and I definitely need to purchase this too. Love the simplicity of your styling. Amazing!

Leave a comment