50s Inspired Sabrina Cape Dress Part 2

Thanks for waiting, I am now ready to unveil the 50s inspired Sabrina Cape Dress. Yes, the entire outfit!

With cape

Without cape

This outfit was inspired by the image below originally posted by the Selfish Seamstress. Do you think my part modern, part vintage pattern combination successful delivered the outfit?

My review on burdastyle’s Sabrina dress sewing pattern can be found on my previous post.  I adapted the cape portion from my seriously overused butterick B5032.

It’s funny that I’ve used this cape pattern for two very different capes and never the one on the pattern cover. The other one is here. I cut the pattern pieces for the front and back of the cape, did the darts, sewed the front and back pieces together and did a fitting with the dress on. I identified where the front had to end so that the cape can be buttoned to the dress. I cut away the excess fabric and sewed on a poly lining.  After another fitting to ascertain the placement, buttonholes were sewn on.

Oh! And I just wanted to show a better photo of the cute egg colored buttons i mentioned in the last post and the iron-on hemming tape I discovered at Daiso.

I read about the Very Purple Person using the hemming tapes on her projects and was curious about it. So, I decided to give it a try when I found it. It is a dream to use! Your hem is finished beautifully in a few seconds!

TGIF! Have a fantastic and rejuvenating weekend everyone!

35 thoughts on “50s Inspired Sabrina Cape Dress Part 2

  1. Fantastic outfit! I love the pleating on the skirt (at least it looks like pleating in that photo…?). Great fabric – not too girly. Love it!

  2. Beautiful! I love it. I’ve had a really cute vintage cape dress pattern sitting around for awhile…now I want to go make it up! 🙂

  3. Love it! Super cute. I love how the button straps become the buttons to secure the cape. It’s brilliant! Very nice work, great fabric choice and lovely photographs!

  4. Oh Wow! This dress is great. Beautiful sewing, fabric choice and fits you perfect. I saw that post by Selfish Seamstress and it’s so fun to see someone make what she was talking about.

  5. Hi!
    I love this dress! Do you wear your handmade creations when you go out in the streets of Singapore? I imagine that you do not need to shop for clothes since you can make so many pretty ones for yourself. But Singapore is such a great place to shop for fashion!

  6. Haha, sometimes I do wonder if my sewing for my baby is a superflous thing or not in this age when baby clothes can be so cheap (especially during sales period), but I really do love the joy of sewing and really would like to make time to sew!

  7. Oh my God! I just saw this gorgeous creation featured on Grosgrain and I had to come here and tell you that you’ve done an excellent job! I LOVE IT!! You look stunning in it!

  8. I love your combo of cape and dress. The pleats are really nice, and the fabric choice goes well with the vintage style. Well done!

  9. I’m extremely impressed along with your writing talents as neatly as with the structure in your blog. Is that this a paid topic or did you modify it yourself? Either way stay up the nice quality writing, it’s rare
    to peer a nice blog like this one today..

  10. Hi, I do think your blog might be having web browser compatibility issues.

    Whenever I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in I.
    E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, wonderful blog!

  11. We’re a gaggle of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your site offered us with valuable information to work on.
    You’ve performed an impressive job and our
    whole group will probably be thankful to you.

Leave a comment