‘The Blues’ Resort Dress

As part of my resort style theme, I used Simplicity 8442, a vintage pattern from the 1970s to create a resort style dress. I chose to sew the version with sleeves though I did shorten them a little. I wanted a very relaxed look and  love the shape and cute slant of the humongous pockets!

But, this dress at certain points, gave me the blues. Yes, it did. The issues occurred on the front and back bodice pieces. When I first tried the front bodice on I thought OMG the shoulder straps might be too short! That was deceiving as it turned out there were huge gaps on the front and back opening of the dress, like these.

These gaps were very ugly and annoying. It made me wondered if this was a design that called for shoulder pads as there seemed to be just enough extra space for them. The envelope didn’t mention them however.

Anyhow, I wasn’t too keen to add shoulder pads for this dress. Instead, I turned the dress inside out, pinning and taking in the extra fabric at both shoulder seams the best that I could. I baste the ‘new’ seams at both shoulders, tried on the dress again before stitching them. I also added snap button above the invisible zipper to secure the back. The dress is still far from being perfect but I tried my best and am happy that it is now wearable.

I used voile for the dress and it is underlined. It’s the first time I tried underlining and I followed the instructions closely. Underlining is different from lining as it is sewed onto the wrong side of the dress while lining is sewed right side to right side of the dress.

The voile tends to crinkle easily but still I love that the dress does look relaxing and definitely has the resort feel to it. I’m glad I managed to contain the gapping problem.

A close up view of the cute pockets embellished with silver ric rac and a sparkling purple button.

BTW, have you heard of polyvore? I think I must be one of the last to use it. LOL.  I had a little bit of time while pondering what to do with the gaps on the dress so I starting selecting accessories for it on the website. So, here’s my dream resort combination with this dress. My very first collage from polyvore.com. Cute?


I know, it’s not fair for some of my sewing comrades to see these when it’s freezing cold autumn/ winter where some of them are. So, I did a cold weather version too, just for fun! I know the dress was made with resort style in mind but with the right accessories, it can be a completely different outfit. I am also one who believe that a dress from a vintage pattern can go well with accessories from today, though I am bias when it comes to sunglasses…the look is retro any day! 🙂

Off course, I wished I owned all these accessories so I can see what the outfit looks like in real life…but that only happens on polyvore. LOL. I did, however, put my name in the ballot to win those cute Whooga gold ugg boots! The giveaway is ongoing and you can enter by follow Whooga on Twitter or subscribing to their newsletter. All the best my sewing comrades!

Have a happy week everyone! I am chasing the blues away by sewing more tomorrow:)

14 thoughts on “‘The Blues’ Resort Dress

  1. The dress looks great, good save! I love seeing some of those harsh late 60s and 70s styles made up in different fabrics—it really changes the look of them :).

    I suspect the problems with the neckline comes from it stretching out on the bias. This is *very* easy to have happen (and even if it’s not stretched out to begin with it may stretch later, grr). Staystitching or stabilizing the seam-allowance with some kind of fusible or even a tape or ribbon should help. You might also have needed a bit of an SBA (another of my issues 😉 ) as it’s such a fitted pattern through the bust. You could also try taking a tuck out of the pattern if you make it again, wide end in the neckline narrowing to nothing at the shoulder-side. (if that makes any sense at all)

    You rolled with it, though, and it looks great! 🙂

  2. I love the fabric and the look of the dress is completely different the way you wear it than that of the pattern picture. Takes me back though because I was in Jr. High in the 60’s and I remember wearing things like that especially the colors.

  3. Tanit-Isis :
    The dress looks great, good save! I love seeing some of those harsh late 60s and 70s styles made up in different fabrics—it really changes the look of them .
    I suspect the problems with the neckline comes from it stretching out on the bias. This is *very* easy to have happen (and even if it’s not stretched out to begin with it may stretch later, grr). Staystitching or stabilizing the seam-allowance with some kind of fusible or even a tape or ribbon should help. You might also have needed a bit of an SBA (another of my issues ) as it’s such a fitted pattern through the bust. You could also try taking a tuck out of the pattern if you make it again, wide end in the neckline narrowing to nothing at the shoulder-side. (if that makes any sense at all)
    You rolled with it, though, and it looks great!

    Thanks Tanit-Isis 🙂 Wow! Appreciate all your suggestions, I will definitely ponder more on which method to use to solve the gapping neckline issue when I sew this dress the next time round. I also suspect it might be my fabric choice, voile might have been too light weight for this pattern:)

  4. Pingback: WhatToWearToAClub.com

  5. Very pretty dress! It’s so summery, definitely gives off the ‘resort’ vibe. I am quite envious that it’s summer for you right now, while we’re freezing over here! How cute that you made up a wintery collage as well, just for us!

  6. oh, this is great! your post reminded me to go through an old box of vintage patterns that i bought on my last usa trip! also a simplicity pattern, very similar to what you made! i also LOVE your accessories suggested!

Leave a Reply

