The Gucci Flora Icon Exhibition

Gucci1

When Princess Grace of Monaco visited Gucci’s Via Monte Napolene store with Prince Rainer in 1966, Rodolfo Gucci commissioned artist Vittorio Accornero to create a special floral pattern on an original silk scarf just for her. And the rest you could say is history.

grace-kelly-in-gucci-floral-scarf

The result was a gorgeous illustration featuring 43 varieties of flowers, plants and insects that has since undergone multiple interpretations and has been featured on several accessories and ready-to-wear items. Today, it is one of Gucci’s most timeless and storied motifs.

Gucciscarf

The two-day only exhibition at the ArtScience Museum displayed a curated selection of archival pieces from Florence’s Gucci Museo, including original flora scarves, drawings from Accornero dating back to the late 1960s, women’s ready-to-wear pieces including dresses, blouses and gowns, handbags, and unique porcelain items, all carrying the iconic flora print.

To be frank, I only expected flora prints but what greeted us upon entry to the exhibition was a few couture gowns wore by celebrities on the red carpet. What a nice surprise!  This is a very small exhibition compared to Valentino Retrospective which I attended a few years back but I’m really thankful that photos are allowed this time.

This champagne charmeause column gown with cut out sleeves is truly spectacular. It was wore by French actress Lea Seydoux at Cannes Film Festival premiere of “Il Gattopardo”.

Photo source (www.zimbio.com)

Photo source (www.zimbio.com)

Gucci2

The gown’s bodice is encrusted with silver and gold metallic beading. Gucci2a

Gucci2b

From this photo, I believe the individual embellishments were hand stitched onto the completed outfit.

Gucci2c

Next up, a simple and elegant navy blue gown which was wore by Argentinian/French actress Bérénice Bejo at Golden Globes 2012. This is a masterpiece and my favorite piece on display at the couture section.

Photo source (www.justjared.com)

Photo source (www.justjared.com)

Gucci4

Look at all that details at the waist! I am totally in awe at this point but wait…Gucci4a

just how magnificent are those pleats and godets?
Gucci4b

Salma Hayek wore this embellished champagne gown at the opening of Cannes Film Festival two years ago.Photo source (www.justjared.com)

Photo source (www.justjared.com)

The gown is breath-taking…Gucci5

with the beaded section merging seamlessly with the pleats. My jaw dropped.Gucci5a

This sexy purple pleated gown is gorgeous! Aishwarya Rai walked down the Cannes Film Festival red carpet in this beauty in 2010. I adore the low back but unfortunately didn’t get to see the back of the gown at the exhibition.

Photo source (www.styleguru.com)

Photo source (www.styleguru.com)

IMG_2179

The iconic flora came in full bloom at the second section of the exhibition.

GucciFlora

The colors of spring in full display on the white background of this fabric. Very pretty.
Gucciflora1

What a beautiful vintage housecoat this makes!Gucciflora1a

And I couldn’t take my eyes off this pleated cape blouse.Guccifloracape

Here’s a dress in the black colorway. Very elegant.

Gucciflora2

Gucciflora2a

Guccibag

Gucciscarf

I am so in love with this porcelain like combination of blue and white. I heart this flora trench!!!Guccifloracoat

guccifloracoat1

guccifloracoat2

I’ve always loved border print and this is no exception. The design is so 40s too. And where can I get a dress form wrapped in that beautiful fabric?Guccidress

I hope you enjoyed the stunning outfits as much as I did. Do you have a favorite piece? I was pleasantly surprised that even my kids appreciated the exhibition and hubby told me in the evening that he really likes flora prints:)

kidsatgucci

11 thoughts on “The Gucci Flora Icon Exhibition

  1. WoW, Millefiori!
    Thank you for sharing your time at this wonderful exhibit with us. The gowns on display are a nice ‘extra’ I would say!

  2. Oh, I read this post with great interest. I really love flora prints (and art, as well). I would love that blue and white trench. I sometimes watch the fashion review shows and they comment a lot how badly a dress photographed when it was so wonderful in person. I can see how that might be true through your photographs. That first champagne colored gown is a fine gown on the red carpet, but your up close photos reveal its a real stunner!

  3. Thank you ladies, glad you all enjoyed the “show”🙂

    @ Rebecca: Drool! I hope to someday find a similar fabric, hopefully waterproof and sew one up. Another sewing aspiration:)

    @EvaDress: Yes, indeed….icing to the cake!

    @crystalpleats: You are definitely right about the photos. When I first found the red carpet photo, I had to do a double take just to make it it was the same dress. All the intricate details are lost on a full body shot which is a real pity cos it is indeed a stunning gown.

  4. Just beautiful (and makes me dream of flowers, gardens, butterflies…)! Wasn’t able to make it to the exhibition but your post makes me feel like I was there too.

Leave a Reply

