Nani Iro Tunic

While I was away from my sewing machine, my husband and I managed to catch three movies (Inception, Salt and Eclipse), get our hair trimmed at the salon and enjoy a couple massage. We even brought the kids to the beach, the park and went swimming together. Couple and family time have been great but it has been almost a week since I last had my sewing machine plugged in. I was very much looking forward to creating again. However, I must admit that when this day came, it was not easy getting my sewing groove back.

It took some effort to pull myself away from my Macbook and to get into the fabric cutting mode this morning. And after I changed the machine needle, the machine threader was not working properly so I’ve been relying on my eyes to do the threading the entire day which became rather exhausting.  I never knew how much I have taken the threader for granted. *sigh*.

Anyways, I am happy that at the end of the session, I completed my first project of the week and my final project from the Japanese Sewing Book ‘Feminine wardrobe’. That means, I get to make my Echino dress! Yipee!

Here’s me sporting a new tan and my Nani Iro Tunic. I love this Double Gauze fabric I got from Fabric Tales Japan. It is too gorgeous! I was crazy enough to leave the collection and designer names on one of the sleeves!

I knew I wanted to make a tunic with this fabric when I bought it but I have not tried Japanese sewing books then. The fabric print is very serene and reminded me of watercolor paintings. I wanted to use a pattern that is different yet simple. I’m very glad I waited and finally used this Japanese pattern and adapted it for a tunic.

This is the original photo from the book and the dress pattern which I adapted.

The pattern is C3 from the book and I used the bodice pieces from C2 as they were essentially the same pieces, only shorter. I didn’t use elastic for the sleeves as I thought that would be too puffy for my liking. I used french seams for the inside of sleeves so they looked neat even from outside. I love the front yoke and the pleats on the front bodice, back bodice and sleeves.

I love this tunic. It is super comfy and perfect for summer! Think I am getting the groove back.

45 thoughts on “Nani Iro Tunic

  1. This is GORGEOUS! I have to tell you that I bought this Japanese sewing book because of the great projects you said you’ve made from it. Thanks for being the push I needed to FINALLY buy a Japanese sewing book! Can’t wait to see how your dress turns out, I’m sure it’s going to be marvellous.

  2. I understand the difficulty in getting back into the sewing groove. Congrats for doing so which resulted in a beautiful top. I really will have to try to get that book!

  3. Congrats! your tunic is absolutely wonderful… I love sooo much Nani Iro fabrics and the pattern suits it perfectly. You look as beautiful as the model on the book! :o)

  4. What a beautiful blouse! And its so much more impressive than the pattern photo too. I love those sleeves. There is nothing to be said about your fabric choice except excellent.

  5. You have been sewing a lot lately! It encourages me so much!
    Nani iro fabric is one of my favorite! They are so lovely. That bow at the bust is really cute.
    I actually have the same fabric. Like its softness.

  6. Pingback: Self Stitched September: Day 21 to 27 « The Sew Convert

Leave a comment