Me-Made-May 2013: Let it Begin!

This is a totally unplanned post.

It’s the 1st of May, start of the very exciting Me-Made-May 2013! My initial plan was to do weekly  summaries but it being a public holiday, May Day, in Singapore made it too eventful not to be documented on its own.

Just to make things easier, most of my MMM2013 photos will be taken with iphone and/ or Samsung Note 2 Cameras unless I have no one to take them for me.

Day 1: Let it Begin!

New lace with lace-ups

Do you have a favorite me-made dress that you almost never stopped wearing? This blue garden frock completed two years ago was one of such dresses. If I find it in the closet, it gets wore 99% of the time. This was quite a “surprising” favorite dress. After all, it was made out of Burdastyle’s Wiesn Dirndl sewing pattern!

Burdastyle’s Wiesn Dirndl sewing pattern

If I have time to print and stick all that pattern pieces together again, I promise that I will make myself at least a dozen of these. Those piped princess seams on the front and back, the fit and lace trims are the best parts of the design.

blue country frock CU

Months ago, however, something most unfortunate happened. My new helper accidentally burnt a hole (see below)  through the dress’ lace trim.

Mend

My heart was broken.

I didn’t find a suitable trim in my stash to replace it with and so the poor dress was left in the “To be mended” pile. Mending is not something I enjoy doing at all.  MMM2013 was just the motivation I needed. I visited my favorite trims and notions stalls in Chinatown, avoided all the fabric stalls and got myself some fresh lace trim and now, the dress is back in business! Yay!

MMM13Day1

I wore the dress with “new lace” with a pair of laced up shoes from Poetic Licence. It’s the first time I’m trying out this combination and I just love how well they went together:)IMG_2659

My family and I visited the Singapore Flyer,  the world’s largest observation wheel. However, our objective was not the ferris wheel ride. IMG_2673

What we were going for, as typical Singaporeans, was the food. I’ve heard quite a lot about the Singapore Food Trail and its good old days decor, setting and food!IMG_2717

And off course I had to take a photo with the vintage sewing machine:) In case you are visiting, I would recommend the Bak Kuh Teh (Pork Ribs Soup).IMG_2664

IMG_2666

IMG_2665

It’s seriously such a nostalgic experience! I have not seen this sign for Bird Nest Drink for at least 25 years. I loved this as a kid and it’s basically a concoction of syrup, water and agar agar. Not real birds nest:)

IMG_2669

IMG_2671

IMG_2672A stroll by the Flyer was lovely too, with views to the Gardens By The Bay across the reservoir.
IMG_2677

We spent hours at Kinokuniya bookstore afterwards as my 6-year-old loves to read. And there I discovered that many of my favorite Japanese sewing books are now available in English! Great news for those who have been hesitant to try them out due to language.Japanese sewing books now in English

Tea time comes next.
IMG_2715

IMG_2690

IMG_2691

IMG_2692

IMG_2688

IMG_2696

Honestly, you don’t need a reason for a fine pot of tea and yummy desserts anytime:)
Have a blessed week! And I can’t wait to see all the me-made outfit everyone’s wearing today!

11 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2013: Let it Begin!

  1. That dress and shoe combo is to die for. I’ve been a huge fannof everything you make and finally decided to chime in and let you know. Can’t wait to see what you wear this month.

  2. Wow! I love your dress. And I can’t tell you how much I enjoy reading a Singaporean sewing blog. What about a Singapore meetup in the future? 🙂

  3. Hi – I just discovered your blog through MMM13 – I lived in Singapore for 4 years and it’s so wonderful to see you there – they were very happy times. And I love your sewing.

  4. Hello fellow sewing Singaporean! 🙂 I’m excited to find like-minded people in Singapore. A great start to your me-made-may 🙂 Makes me want to partake in this except that i’m still an amateur sewist. 🙂
    Happy Sewing!

Leave a comment